Skip to main content
Michigan State University

AAAS 390: Do You Have the Right to Remain Silent? The Lives and Literacies of Youth Activists: Home


Library Resources for Political Poster Assignment

Africana Posters Collection

The Africana Posters Collection contains 570 posters from Africa and neighboring countries, and from anti-apartheid movements all over the world. The posters your class studied on September 28 were from this collection.

To view the entire collection, use the link above. Once you have the full results, you can also click Modify Your Search and filter by date or words in the poster title.

The posters are available in the Special Collections Reading Room, which is open 9-5 M-F, and 1-5 Sunday.

African Posters at Northwestern

The Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern also has a large collection of posters from activist movements. Search the Northwestern Image Repository here.

The term "African" will retrieve the entire set, or you can focus your results somewhat by searching for "apartheid" or "African National Congress" or similar terms.

T-Shirt Collections

Special Collections has several sets of t-shirts from anti-apartheid campaigns:

Michael Fleshman African Solidarity T-Shirt Collection

Prexy Nesbitt T-Shirt Collection

Aracelly Santana T-Shirt Collection

Printing Your Poster

The Main Library Copy Center can print your poster in two formats. See prices and instructions for each:

Tabloid (11" x 17" inches)

Plotter (printed from 36" paper roll; can be as long as you want)

Button maker

The library has a button maker which we use in-house for events. I've arranged to have it available in Make Central (near the Copy Center on 2 West) for the week before your assignment is due: October 14-21.

The Copy Center/Make Central manager has not determined what they'll charge for button making but it will be cost of materials only.

Making buttons is not listed on your syllabus as a requirement for your midterm. This is just an experiment to see if we might add button making to our range of services. If you like it please say so! :)

Research Guide author

Ruth Ann Jones
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University