Skip to main content
Michigan State University

CHM Clinician Educator Mentoring Program

Collection of helpful resources for those participating in CHM's CEMP program

Database Choice

Before you begin to search it can be very helpful to plan where you are planning to search. By identifying key databases or other information resource platforms you can plan your search strategy and time appropriately. You don't want to spend a lot of time searching a database that may not have any useful information contained in it.

Academic Databases for Medicine

Academic Databases for Other Disciplines

Online Curriculum Resources

Google Scholar

  • make sure that you select Michigan State University Libraries as your home institution in the
    "library links" of your Google Scholar settings. This will give you a link beside each article to find the full text.
  • Great for finding "grey literature" - items like conference proceedings, position papers, institutional repositories, and articles from journals not indexed in traditional academic databases.
  • No complex searching possible, just keywords with no search operators.

National Institutes of Health Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (NIH RePORTER)

  • Can be helpful to see if a similar project has been grant funded, and if so you can look up the authors or their affiliated institutions and determine if they have published or presented on that topic.

MedEdPortal

  • Key medical education/curriculum resources, peer reviewed curriculum resources by other medical faculty and professionals. Associated with the AAMC and several specialty associations like the AAEM.

Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Resource Library: http://www.fmdrl.org/

  • shared, online curriculum repository by and for family medicine educators.

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM)

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

AIUM: Ultrasound in Medical Education Portal

Michigan State University