Web Sites
- 1962 - Cuban Missile CrisisFrom the Web site of the U.S. Navy Destroyer "Mullinnix" (DD 944) which participated in the "naval quarantine" of Cuba.
- 32nd Guards Air Fighter Regiment in Cuba (1962-1963)Translation from a book on a Soviet Air Force unit stationed in Cuba. Includes interviews of participants.
- 50 years ago since the start of the Cuban Missile CrisisIntroduction to the crisis and as well as a guide on using ProQuest's National Security Archive database for researching the topic.
- CIA Documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
- Cold War International History Project Digital Archive: Cuban Missile CrisisThis is a collection of primary source documents concerning the Cuban Missile Crisis of October 1962--a major confrontation...over the presence of Soviet missiles in Cuba. The documents date from 1962 to 1968. They are mainly from Soviet archives (translated into English) and range from diagrams to memorandums, cables/telegrams, minutes of conversations, and notes."
- Cuban Missile Crisis (Yale University's Avalon Project)Extensive collection of U.S. government documents from the period, including list of key players, glossary of abbreviations, and sources.
- Cuban Missile Crisis BibliographyFrom the Alsos Digital Library for Nuclear Issues.
- Cuban Missile Crisis from NuclearFiles.org
- Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962Produced by the Naval History and Heritage Command, this site focuses on the U.S. Navy's role in the crisis.
- Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962:The 40th AnniversaryProduced by the National Security Archive, this site contains "press releases, selected documents, photographs, audio clips and other material from the historic conference in Havana."
- Cuban Missile Crisis: From the JFK LibraryFrom the Library's "JFK in History" site.
- Cuban Missile Crisis: Thirteen Days and HistoryProduced by Harvard University's Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs in cooperation with the producers of "Thirteen Days." Its objective is to help movie viewers and others to explore historical facts of the Cuban Missile Crisis and analyze nuclear danger today.
- Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy: Cuban Missile CrisisSelected by Mt. Holyoke College's International Relations Program.
- John F Kennedy and the Cuban Missile CrisisScholarly essay on the BBC's Cold War History site.
- No Time to Talk: The Cuban Missile Crisis,Site done by Carl A. Young, a National Guard officer with a Master's in History from George Mason University. Includes a chronology, selective primary sources, and a bibliography.
- World on the Brink:John F. Kennedy and the Cuban Missile CrisisOnline exhibit produced by the JFK Presidential Library and Museum. Includes primary sources.
Research Resources
Reference Sources
"Cuban crisis" of 1962 : selected documents, chronology, and bibliography
Cuban missile crisis : [a selected bibliography]
Primary Sources:
British archives on the Cuban missile crisis 1962
CIA documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962 Online Print
"Cuban crisis" of 1962 : selected documents, chronology, and bibliography
Cuban missile crisis, 1962 : a National Security Archive documents reader
Cuban missile crisis and aftermath [From the Foreign Relations of the United State States set] Print: Gov Docs S1.1: 1961-63: Vol. XI Online
Kennedy tapes : inside the White House during the Cuban missile crisis
Mind-sets and missiles : a first hand account of the Cuban missile crisis -- author was a Latin American analysist with the CIA's Office of National Estimates
October 1962 : the "missile" crisis as seen from Cuba
Octubre de 1962 : la mayor crisis de la era nuclear : memorias, reflexiones y especulaciones de un participante cubano, cuarenta años después -- memoir by Cuban official Rubén Jiménez Gómez.
Operation ANADYR : U.S. and Soviet generals recount the Cuban missile crisis
Soviet views on the Cuban missile crisis : myth and reality in foreign policy analysis
Thirteen days; a memoir of the Cuban missile crisis -- Attorney General Robert F. Kennedy's account Print: 1969 ed. 1999 ed. Online (1971 ed.)
Librarian for American History, |
Contact Info Humanities Librarian Collections Management MSU Libraries 366 W. Circle Drive East Lansing, MI 48824 517-884-0854 Send Email Subjects: History & Canadian Studies |
U.S. Official Histories
- Cordon of steel : the U.S. Navy and the Cuban missile crisisPublished by the Naval Historical Center.
- Cuban missile crisis of 1962 : a case in national security crisis managementPublished by the National Defense University.
- NSA and the Cuban Missile Crisis [Contains the National Security Agency's analysis of the Cuban missile crisis. Includes an extensive document archive of declassified files associated with the crisis and a full-length synopsis of events. This site highlights the role that signals intelligence (SIGINT) played in the crisis.
- When the Russians blinked : the U.S. maritime response to the Cuban Missile Crisis1989 University of Tulsa Master'sThesis published by the History and Museums Division, Headquarters, U.S. Marine Corps,
- Why we should still study the Cuban Missile CrisisPublished by the U.S. Institute of Peace.


Loading...
