LibGuides: Endangered and Invasive Species Research Guide: General Research

Article Research

Invasive Species Compendium
The Invasive Species Compendium (ISC) is an encyclopedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide. Full datasheets comprise fully referenced sections on taxonomy and nomenclature, distribution, habitat, identification, biology and ecology, species associations, pathways for introduction, impacts and management, complemented by images and maps, and supported by abstracts and full text articles. These datasheets are authored by species experts and peer reviewed. Other datasheets (i.e. animal diseases, pathway causes/vectors, habitats, etc.), research reports and articles, videos, and links to image libraries are included.

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. It covers the following fields: Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Kinseology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present. Web of Science platform.

Aquatic Plant Information Retrieval System (APIRS)
Aquatic plant information retrieval system from the Center for Aquatic plants, University of Florida. 72,000+ citation on ecology, physiology, utilization, and control. Free to the public.
more...less...
Aquatic Plant Information Retrieval System (APIRS) database now includes more than 72,000 citations, and continues to be the largest free database of its kind in the world. Beginning as a mainframe, punch-card database of a few hundred references about water hyacinths, the APIRS database now contains citation and keyword records for scientific articles and reports about uncounted species of aquatic, wetland and invasive plants. The database has been used many thousands of times by researchers, government agencies, companies, teachers, students and private groups and individuals. Users can request searches of the database or they can access the database themselves, online.

The database originally was meant to be a source of information for "aquatic weed" workers in developing countries, and was funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development for that purpose. It quickly became a source of information for workers in Florida as well, gaining the support of the then Bureau of Aquatic Plant Management of the Florida Department of Natural Resources (now the Bureau of Invasive Plant Management of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection). USAID ceased sponsorship of the database in the early 1980s.

The DEP Bureau continues to be a primary sponsor of the APIRS program. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Aquatic Plant Control Research Program has provided significant support in the past. The program also is supported by the St. Johns River Water Management District, with occasional special-project support coming from other agencies and companies such Cerexagri-Nisso LLC.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
1995-
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). It also contains electronic books. Coverage includes strong content in the physical sciences. Personalization options for table of contents alerts, saving searches, etc., are available.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne launched its original aggregation, BioOne.1, with 40 titles in 2001. In January 2007 BioOne added BioOne.2, a complementary collection of 40 new titles. Now at maturity, BioOne Complete about 200 high-impact publications. BioOne.1 provides the scholarly community with a must-have collection of critical, high-quality titles across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System, formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and two international partners. ProQuest platform.
Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
The Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index is a popular and scholarly index to over 300 journals on gardening, horticulture, landscape design, botany, ecology, plant conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is the platform for European based publisher Springer. It provides online access to reference works and other e-books, in addition to their journals in the scientific, technical, and medical fields. PLEASE NOTE MSU LIBRARIES HAS NOT PURCHASED ALL CONTENT ON THIS PLATFORM.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1910-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
1983-
Provides information from groundwater pollution to genetic engineering and covers the entire range of sciences related to biology and agriculture. Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture. Includes current book reviews.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

IUCN Publications Library
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) has one of the world’s most comprehensive ranges of authoritative publications, reports, guidelines and databases for conservation and sustainable development. They publish or co-author more than 150 books and major assessments every year, along with hundreds of other reports, documents and guidelines.

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
1970-
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Grow: Plant Health Exchange This link opens in a new window
The Plant Management Network is a unique cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Designed to provide plant science practitioners fast electronic access to proven solutions, the Plant Management Network offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations. In addition, the network's three peer-reviewed citable journals, Applied Turfgrass Science, Crop Management, Forage and Grazinglands, and Plant Health Progress, provide credible current information in areas important to practitioners, policy makers, and the public.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
AGRIS (Free FAO version) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition. The database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) in cooperation with participating countries and international organizations. Information on using AGRIS to locate FAO reports is available.

Catalog and Subject Searching

The Library catalog is the primary way to find materials within the library. The online catalog lists all of the materials owned and cataloged by the MSU Libraries, both print and electronic journal titles, books, music CDs, government documents, videos & DVDs, and dissertations.

A Subject search is the best and easiest way to hone in on materials on a specific topic. Defining what subject to use can be challenging, so here is a list of them that are used for materials concentration on endangered or threatened, invasive or noxious species:

Aquatic pests
Aquatic pests -- Control -- Great Lakes
Aquatic pests -- Control -- Michigan
Aquatic pests -- Great Lakes
Aquatic pests -- Identification
Aquatic pests -- United States

Endangered plants
Endangered Species
Endangered Species Act
Endangered Species Michigan
Exotic marine organisms
Extinct animals
Extinct plants

Invasive / Noxious Species
Introduced animals
Introduced Organisms
Invasive Plants

Nonindigenous aquatic pests
Nonindigenous Pests
Nonindigenous Pests Michigan
Nonindigenous Pests United States
Noxious weeds (used for Invasive Weeds and Noxious Plants)

Pest introduction
Plant conservation
Plants Extinction

Rare Animals
Rare Animals Michigan
Rare Plants

Wildlife conservation

In addition, be sure to look up the species in question as a subject to find specific documents on it. As an example, click here to see a subject heading list for the endangered bird Kirtland's Warbler.