Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Genealogy and "Local History" Resources: Home

Online Mega-Resources

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research product that provides instant access to more than 1.2 billion names, more than 3,000 databases, primary source documents and images and a variety of genealogical research features with new databases added daily. It also includes Gale Group's Passenger & Immigration Lists Index and, for the first time, digital images of the census records from the U.S. Federal Census between the years 1790 and 1920.Free to the MSU Community.

Find A Grave

"...a resource for finding the final resting place of family, friends, and 'famous' individuals. With millions of names and photos, it is an invaluable tool for the genealogist and family history buff. Find A Grave memorials can contain rich content including photos, biographies and dates."

Heritage Quest Online

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records from the 1790 - 1920 U.S. federal censuses. The 1930 census images are available but only with limited searching capability. It offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more. Free to the MSU Community and to Michigan residents.

 Footnote.com

Its "collections feature documents, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, US Presidents, historical newspapers, naturalization documents, and many more...In addition to hosting millions of records, Footnote supports a community of people who are passionate about a variety of topics relating to history." Subscription database.

 Genealogical Resources in U.S. Federal Depository Libraries

"This guide is intended to give those interested in genealogical research some idea of the kinds of materials available... through the Federal Depository Library System in general."

 Genealogy/Family History (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration)

"Learn how you can use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry."

 Genealogy Gateway (Michigan eLibrary)

"Whether you are charting your family tree, researching your ancestry or seeking information on family or social history, the resources you’ll find in this gateway will get you started or move you forward in your quest." Databases free to Michigan residents.

Geneaology Learning Center of the American Family Immigration History Center"

"...basic assistance to help you in the pursuit of your own family history."

 Michigan County Clerk's Directory

"County Clerk offices maintain public records of great interest to genealogists...The following information is provided about each of the 83 county offices: address, phone number, FAX number (where available), e-mail address (where available), genealogy research hours, identification requirements for use of records, cost of certified copy/additional copies, cost of genealogical records copies, other copy fees, comments such as whether the records are microfilmed or whether there is seating capacity for genealogists, and a list of available records and inclusive dates of the records."

 USGenWeb Project

Run by "a group of volunteers working together to provide Internet websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. The Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free access for everyone. Organization is by county and state, and this website provides you with links to all the state websites which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties. The USGenWeb Project also sponsors important Special Projects at the national level and this website provides an entry point to all of those pages, as well.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University