Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201, Spring 2016, Dr Tibebe Eshete. Religious History of Africa: Subject Encyclopedias

Using subject encyclopedas

Use subject encyclopedias to understand the background of your topic, or for context about unfamiliar names or events you encounter while using primary sources. Subject encyclopedias will often cite key scholarly works as well.

Finding Subject Encyclopedia Articles Through SearchPlus

STEP 1. Go to the library's home page at lib.msu.edu and look for the SearchPlus box. Type keywords on your topic.

MSU Libraries website with terms "hip hop education" in search box

 

STEP 2. You'll get a huge number of hits. Use the filters on the left to narrow your search. To narrow your results to articles in subject encyclopedias, limit the Content Type to Reference. (To do that, you must expand the Content Type list by clicking More.)

 

STEP 3. Now that the Content Type is limited to Reference, the results point only to articles in subject encyclopedias.

Direct links to online subject encyclopedias

Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa. Michael R. Fischbach, ed. Gale, 2008.

Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa: An Encyclopedia. SAGE, 2012.

Encyclopedia of Africa. Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Oxford University Press, 2010.

Encyclopedia of African Religion. Molefi Kete Asante and Ama Mazama, eds. SAGE, 2009

Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East: An Encyclopedia. John A. Shoup. ABC-CLIO, 2011.

New Encyclopedia of Africa. John Middleton, ed. Scribner's, 2008.

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. F. Abiola Irele and Biodun Jeyifo, eds. Oxford University Press, 2010.

Subject encyclopedias available only in print

African Folklore: An Encyclopedia. Philip M. Peek and Kwesi Yankah, eds. Routledge, 2004.

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture. Willie F. Page, ed. Facts on File, 2005.

Student Encyclopedia of African Literature. Douglas Killam and Alicia L. Kerfoot. Greenwood, 2008.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University