Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201: History Methods and Skills (Draper): Getting Started

Getting started with print and ebook collections

Requesting materials from other libraries:

  • Uborrow. For everything except articles. Searches the catalogs of 13 major Midwestern research libraries.
  • Illiad For articles, books,videos, dissertations, etc.
  • WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 1 billion records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link

Getting Started with Primary Sources

American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate

A compilation of document types from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Issues of the challenging times chronicled span women’s rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement

A collection featuring transcribed texts and scanned images of over 40 articles, pamphlets, flyers, and booklets published from 1969 to 1974 which reflect the diversity of theory and activities characterizing the early years of the U.S. Women's Liberation Movement.

Provides primary source information on the popular culture of the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Original archival material from libraries, including manuscripts, typescripts, and ephemera, as well as video clips, are included.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974

Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 75,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 75,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials.

Proquest Historical Newspapers

This resource includes the full text of the following historical newspapers: CHICAGO TRIBUNE (1849-1988, DETROIT FREE PRESS (1831-1922), LOS ANGELES TIMES (1881-1988), LOUISVILLE COURIER JOURNAL (1830-1922), NASHVILLE TENNESSEAN (1812-1922), NEW YORK TIMES (1851-2008), WALL STREET JOURNAL (1889-1994), WASHINGTON POST (1877-1995). It also includes historical black newspapers: ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (1931-2003),CHICAGO DEFENDER (1910-1975),LOS ANGELES SENTINAL (1934-2005) NEW AMSTERDAM NEWS (1922-1993), and the PITTSBURGH COURRIER (1911-2002).

ProQuest American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals

African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1998 

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. 

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 

Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.


Getting started with secondary sources (articles)


Searchable database of the full text of journals in a variety of disciplines.

America History and Life

Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.

Over six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers. 

Oxford Bibliographies

Combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

Bobby Smiley

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University