Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201: Historical Methods and Skills (Eshete): Home

Getting started with secondary sources (articles)

JSTOR

Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology.

Historical Abstracts

Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.

SAePublications (SABINET e-journals)

The most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic African journals in the world (including reviews and studies), covering subjects such as business, education, humanities, science, medical and health sciences, law and theology.

ATLA Religion Database

ATLA Religion Database indexes periodical articles and book material in biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.

Getting started with print and ebook collections

Reference Sources

Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies

Combining the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, specifically covering African Studies.

Oxford Reference Online
Contains online versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias previously published in paper by Oxford University Press

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes a number of reference works by the Gale Group and affiliated publishers.

Digital Humanities and American History Librarian

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University