Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 303: Union to Disunion (Summerhill, Fall 2017): Home

Reference Sources to Get You Started

The MSU Library has a great collection of encyclopedias and bibliographies to help you start your research. Use these reference sources to get a general overview of a topic that interests you, and to get ideas for more specific topics that you can focus your research on. 

To search for bibliographies or encyclopedias in the MSU Catalog, simply add the terms "encyclopedia" or "bibliographies" to your search. For example:

Reference Databases

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for HST 303: Union to Disunion. This guide is designed to help you find a rich variety of library resources to complete your digital history project for this course. 

Use the tabs at the top of the page to find library resources for scholarly articles and primary sources, as well as information on how to properly cite your sources in the correct format. 

Bower, John. (1819). A view of the bombardment of Fort McHenry, near Baltimore, by the British fleet, taken from the observatory under the command of Admirals Cochrane & Cockburn on the morning of the 13th of Sepr. 1814. Prints & Photographs, Library of Congress. http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2013645001/ 

 

Librarian

Sarah Klimek's picture
Sarah Klimek
Contact:
U.S. History Librarian
(517) 884-7435

Intro Activity

Read the following two articles, and for each, ask yourself the following questions:

  • What information can you gather from this article?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Who is the author?
  • Where did they get their information from? How do they support their arguments?
Michigan State University