Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 483, Spring 2016, Dr Matthew Pauly. History of Childhood and Youth in Modern Europe: Subject Encyclopedias

Using subject encyclopedas

Use subject encyclopedias to understand the background of your topic, or for context about unfamiliar names or events you encounter while using primary sources. Subject encyclopedias will often cite key scholarly works as well.

Using SearchPlus to Find Subject Encyclopedia Articles

SearchPlus is the default search on the MSU Libraries home page: lib.msu.edu. Type in your topic.

 

You get 1.2 million results! Now narrow your results to articles from subject encyclopedias. Under Content Type, click More.

You'll get an expanded list of Content Types. Select Reference and click Apply.

SearchPlus results showing filtering of results to Content Type Reference

 

Now your results are filtered to items like this. Click the Available Online link to go to the article.

Citation to United Farm Workers article in Race and Racism encyclopedia.

Direct links to online subject encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Blacks in European History and Culture. Eric Martone, ed. Greenwood, 2009.

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society. Paula S. Fass, ed. Macmillan, 2004.

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000. Peter N. Stearns, ed. Charles Scribners, 2001.

Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine: Volume 13, The Young Athelete. Helge Hebestreit and Oded Bar-Or, eds. Blackwell, 2008.

Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction. John Merriman and Jay Winter, eds. Charles Scribners, 2006.

Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789. Nicholas Atkin et al, eds. Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.

Subject encyclopedias available only in print

Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature. Bernice E. Cullinan and Diane G. Person, eds. Continuum, 2003.

Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia. Rebecca S. New and Moncrieff Cochran. Praeger, 2007.

Encyclopaedia of School Stories. Rosemary Auchmuty and Joy Wotton, eds. Ashgate, 2000.

Encyclopedia of Migration and Minorities in Europe: From the Seventeenth Century to the Present. Klaus J. Bade, ed. Cambridge University Press, 2011.

Ethnic Groups of Europe: An Encyclopedia. Jeffrey E. Cole, ed. ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture: Volume 3, Europe. Gerd Bayer, ed. Greenwood, 2007.

Growing Up: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Gwen J. Broude, ed. ABC-CLIO, 1995.

International Encyclopedia of Adolescence. Jeffrey Jensen Arnett, ed. Routledge/Taylor & Francis, 2007.

Youth Activism: An International Encyclopedia. Lonnie R. Sherrod, ed. Greenwood, 2006.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University