Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 483: Europe after 1945 (Hanshew): Best Bets

Getting Starting with Library Resources

Keyword searching our catalog

WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 2 billion records describing items owned by over 70,000 lending institutions worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link.

Requesting materials from other libraries:

  • Uborrow. Everything except articles. Searches the catalogs of 13 major Midwestern research libraries.
  • MeLCat (Michigan E-Library Catalog) Everything except articles. Searches the catalogs of many public and academic libraries in Michigan.
  • Illiad For articles, books,videos, dissertations, etc

Popular Culture in Britain and America: 1950 - 1975

Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history

Times of London Digital Archive, 1785 - 2009

Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.

German History in Documents and Images

German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials (including images) documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present - including a dedicated sections to post 1945 Germany

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe

This aggregator site provides a gateway to mainly primary European documents from a variety of websites, most of which are academic in nature.

European History Primary Sources

European History Primary Sources (EHPS) is a joint initiative of the Library and the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. NB: Many of these sources have not been translated into English.

Historical Abstracts

Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.


Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology.

Oxford Bibliographies

Combining the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, Oxford Bibliographies resource guides researchers to the available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Europe Since 1945: An encyclopedia

Two volume print edition

Oxford Reference Online
Contains online versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias previously published in paper by Oxford University Press


Digital Scholarship and American History Librarian

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University