Skip to main content
Michigan State University

IAH 211: Indian Captivity Narratives and Midwestern Frontier (Sleeper-Smith): Getting Started

Getting started with secondary sources (articles)

America History and Life

Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.

JSTOR

Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology.

Annotated Reading Lists from Oxford Bibliographies Online

Native American Histories in North America by Susan Sleeper-Smith.

Native American Religions by David J. Silverman.

Getting started with print and ebook collections

  • Searching our catalog
  • Requesting books and other materials from other libraries:
    • Uborrow. For everything except articles. Searches the catalogs of 13 major Midwestern research libraries.
    • MeLCat (Michigan E-Library Catalog) For books and videos only. Searches the catalogs of many public and academic libraries in Michigan.
    • Illiad For books,videos, dissertations, etc.
    • WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 1 billion records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link

Getting started with primary source databases

Catalog Items: "Indian Captivites"

A list of the of items returned for a subject search of "indian captivities," which is the Library of Congress's tag for captivity narratives.

America's Historical Newspapers

Collected and catalogued by one of the world’s leading historical societies, the 25,000-plus short works in this new online resource represent an extensive backfile of newspapers ranging from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.

ProQuest American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals

Proquest Historical Newspapers

This resource includes the full text of the following historical newspapers: CHICAGO TRIBUNE (1849-1988, DETROIT FREE PRESS (1831-1922), LOS ANGELES TIMES (1881-1988), LOUISVILLE COURIER JOURNAL (1830-1922), NASHVILLE TENNESSEAN (1812-1922), NEW YORK TIMES (1851-2008), WALL STREET JOURNAL (1889-1994), WASHINGTON POST (1877-1995). It also includes historical black newspapers: ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (1931-2003),CHICAGO DEFENDER (1910-1975),LOS ANGELES SENTINAL (1934-2005) NEW AMSTERDAM NEWS (1922-1993), and the PITTSBURGH COURRIER (1911-2002).

 
A comprehensive resource for finding information on millions of U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles worldwide. To access company information, choose the "Business" tab across the top of the page.
 

This database takes the works currently captured from Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and makes them available online

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University