Skip to main content
Michigan State University

SPN 320, Sec 002 & 003: Culture and Composition: Background Reading

Grace Miller, Instructor, Fall 2016

Selected Resources for Latin American Studies

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean.
[F1406 .C36 1992 Main Reference]

A useful single volume encyclopedia, profusely illustrated. Organized into six broad sections: Physical environment, Economy, Peoples, History, Politics and Society, and Culture.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Digital version of the 2008, 6 volume edition. Coverage includes biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. Utilize the general index to locate entries on your topic.

The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 3 vols.
[PQ7081 .A1 C35 1996 Main]

An excellent resource: v. 1. Discovery to modernism -- v. 2. The twentieth century -- v. 3. Brazilian literature.

Literature Resource Center. Gale Group.

Literature Resource Center provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, and critical analysis of authors from all ages and literary disciplines. Built on three author databases, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography, this resource also includes selected full-text critical material from other Gale Group critical series, plus the complete Scribner Writer Series (bio-critical essays) and the Twayne Authors Series. 

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: The Civilizations of Mexico and Central America. 3 vols.
[And in print: F1218.6 O95 2001 Main]

Brings together the latest scholarship, with more than 500 original articles on every facet of Mesoamerican culture written by leading experts in the field. Includes cross-reference, extensive bibliographies and an index.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics.
[F1410 .E56 2001 Main Reference]

Includes political figures, organizations, and events from the 18th-20th centuries, but with an emphasis on the 20th century. Organized by country, each chapter includes a country profile, brief historical overview, 20-40 entries, a list of heads of state, and a bibliography. There are two appendices of entries that don't fit well in the country-by- country format: one of multi-lateral agreements, organizations, and wars, and one of U.S. foreign policy in the region.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
zeter@msu.edu
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference searches numerous online reference works simultaneously, including the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

See this brief explanation from Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services Web site.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University