Skip to main content
Michigan State University

National Security Archive: A Research Guide: Home

Description

The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). It make the documents available on its Web site,  online databases, and print publications.

Do not confuse the private, non-profit National Security ARCHIVE with the U.S. government's National Security AGENCY which is involved with signals intelligence and "information assurance."

Online Products

Digital National Security Archive

"...contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 36 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included."

CIA"Family Jewels" Indexed

The CIA's self-described "Family Jewels" file lays out the agency's most closely held secrets about their domestic intelligence activities conducted at the height of the Cold War, through 1973.

This is a detailed index to the full page images of the 703 pages comprising the 67 individual or combined sets of documents and ancillary material.

Electronic Briefing Books

Provides... "online access to critical declassified records on issues including U.S. national security, foreign policy, diplomatic and military history, intelligence policy, and more.  Updated frequently, the Electronic Briefing Books represent just a small sample of the documents in our published and unpublished collections."

Subject Guide

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University