Skip to main content
Michigan State University

RCAH 112, Spring 2016, Dr Austin Jackson. Black Popular Culture and Social Movements.: Subject encyclopedias

Using subject encyclopedas

Use subject encyclopedias to understand the background of your topic, or for context about unfamiliar names or events you encounter while using primary sources. Subject encyclopedias will often cite key scholarly works as well.

Finding Subject Encyclopedia Articles Through SearchPlus

STEP 1. Go to the library's home page at lib.msu.edu and look for the SearchPlus box. Type keywords on your topic.

MSU Libraries website with terms "hip hop education" in search box

 

STEP 2. You'll get a huge number of hits. Use the filters on the left to narrow your search. To narrow your results to articles in subject encyclopedias, limit the Content Type to Reference. (To do that, you must expand the Content Type list by clicking More.)

 

STEP 3. Now that the Content Type is limited to Reference, the results point only to articles in subject encyclopedias.

Direct links to online subject encyclopedias

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. Kwane Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Oxford University Press, 2005.

Encyclopedia of African American History. Leslie M. Alexander and Walter C. Rucker, eds. ABC-CLIO, 2010.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the 21st Century. Paul Finkelman, ed. Oxford University Press, 2009.

Historically Black Colleges and Universities: An Encyclopedia. F. Erik Brooks and Glenn L. Starks. Greenwood, 2011.

SAGE Encyclopedia of African Cultural Heritage in North America. Mwalimu J. Shujaa, ed. SAGE, 2015.

Subject encyclopedias in print

African Americans at War: An Encyclopedia. Jonathan D. Sutherland. ABC-CLIO, 2004.

Africana: The Enclopedia of the African and African American Experience. Kwane Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. NY: Oxford University Press, 2005.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas. Colin A. Palmer, ed. Detroit: Macmillan, 2006.

Encyclopedia of African American Writing: Five Centuries of Contributions. Shari Dorantes Hatch, ed. Amenia, NY: Grey House, 2009.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present. Paul Finkelman, ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. Also online.

Encyclopedia of African American Music. Emmett G. Price III, ed. ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Encyclopedia of African American Politics. Robert C. Smith. Facts on File, 2003.

Encyclopedia of African American Society. Gerald D. Jaynes, ed. Sage, 2005. Also online.

Encyclopedia of Black Radio in the United States, 1921-1955. Ryan Ellett. McFarland, 2012.

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance. Lois Brown. Facts on File, 2006.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the 21st Century. Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek, eds. Greenwood, 2003.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore. Anand Prahlad, ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2006.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature. Hans Ostrom and J. David Macey, Jr., eds. Greenwood, 2005.

Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema. S. Torrioano Berry and Venice T. Berry. Scarecrow Press, 2007.

Jim Crow Encyclopedia. Nikki L.M. Brown and Barry M. Stentiford, eds. Greenwood Press, 2008.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University