Skip to main content
Michigan State University

RCAH 380, Spring 2016, Dr Lynn Scott. Mid-20th Century African American Literature: Subject Encyclopedias

Using subject encyclopedas

Use subject encyclopedias to understand the background of your topic, or for context about unfamiliar names or events you encounter while using primary sources. Subject encyclopedias will often cite key scholarly works as well.

Subject Encyclopedias in Print

African American National Biography. Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Evelyn Brooks-Higginbotham, eds. Oxford University Press, 2008. Also online.

African Americans at War: An Encyclopedia. Jonathan D. Sutherland. ABC-CLIO, 2004.

Africana: The Enclopedia of the African and African American Experience. Kwane Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Oxford University Press, 2005. Also online.

Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature. William L. Andrews, Frances Smith Foster, Trudier Harris, eds. Oxford University Press, 2001. Also online.

Encyclopedia of African American Christian Heritage. Marvin A. McMickle. Judson Press, 2002.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas. Colin A. Palmer, ed. Macmillan, 2006.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present. Paul Finkelman, ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. Also online.

Encyclopedia of African American Music. Emmett G. Price III, ed. ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Encyclopedia of African American Politics. Robert C. Smith. Facts on File, 2003.

Encyclopedia of African American Society. Gerald D. Jaynes, ed. Sage, 2005. Also online.

Encyclopedia of African American Writing: Five Centuries of Contributions. Shari Dorantes Hatch, ed. Amenia, Grey House, 2009.

Encyclopedia of African and African American Religions. Stephen D. Glazier, ed. Routledge, 2001.

Encyclopedia of Black Radio in the United States, 1921-1955. Ryan Ellett. McFarland, 2012.

Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora. Carole Boyce Davies, ed. ABC-CLIO, 2008.

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance. Lois Brown. Facts on File, 2006.

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance. Aberjhani and Sandra L. West. Facts on File, 2003.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the 21st Century. Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek, eds. Greenwood, 2003.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore. Anand Prahlad, ed. Greenwood, 2006.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature. Hans Ostrom and J. David Macey, Jr., eds. Greenwood, 2005.

Handbook of African American Literature. Hazel Arnett Ervin. University Press of Florida, 2004. Also online.

Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema. S. Torrioano Berry and Venice T. Berry. Scarecrow Press, 2007.

Jim Crow Encyclopedia. Nikki L.M. Brown and Barry M. Stentiford, eds. Greenwood Press, 2008.

Langston Hughes Encyclopedia. Hans Ostrom. Greenwood, 2002.

Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. Nina Mjagkij, ed. Garland, 2001.

Subject Encyclopedias Online

African American National Biography. Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Evelyn Brooks-Higginbotham, eds. Oxford University Press, 2010.

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. Kwane Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr., eds. Oxford University Press, 2005.

Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature. William L. Andrews, Frances Smith Foster, Trudier Harris. Oxford University Press, 2001.

Encyclopedia of African American History. Leslie M. Alexander and Walter C. Rucker, eds. ABC-CLIO, 2010.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the 21st Century. Paul Finkelman, ed. Oxford University Press, 2009.

Encyclopedia of African American Society. Gerald D. Jaynes, ed. Sage, 2005.

Handbook of African American Literature. Hazel Arnett Ervin. University Press of Florida, 2004.

Historically Black Colleges and Universities: An Encyclopedia. F. Erik Brooks and Glenn L. Starks. Greenwood, 2011.

Oxford Companion to African American Literature. William L. Andrews, Frances Smith Foster, Trudier Harris. Oxford University Press, 1997.

SAGE Encyclopedia of African Cultural Heritage in North America. Mwalimu J. Shujaa, ed. SAGE, 2015.

Find subject encyclopedias in the library catalog

The subject headings for a subject encyclopedia will always include the word encyclopedias (plural) to indicate the format of the work. For example, see the subject headings for The Encyclopedia of African American Writing below:

Abridged catalog record for Encyclopedia of African American Writing

Of course, in this example the word "encyclopedia" (singular) was also in the title. But by searching this way, you would also retrieve useful titles like The Handbook of African American Literature, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, and so on.

Therefore, you can easily find subject encyclopedias on any topic by doing keyword search for your topic area and the word encyclopedias. For example:

  • african americans and politics and encyclopedias
  • harlem renaissance and encyclopedias

Finding Subject Encyclopedia Articles Through SearchPlus

STEP 1. Go to the library's home page at lib.msu.edu and look for the SearchPlus box. Type keywords on your topic.

MSU Libraries website with terms "hip hop education" in search box

 

STEP 2. You'll get a huge number of hits. Use the filters on the left to narrow your search. To narrow your results to articles in subject encyclopedias, limit the Content Type to Reference. (To do that, you must expand the Content Type list by clicking More.)

 

STEP 3. Now that the Content Type is limited to Reference, the results point only to articles in subject encyclopedias.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University