Skip to main content
Michigan State University

SPN 320, Sec. 004 & 005: Culture and Composition: Background Reading

Grace Miller, Instructor, Fall 2017

Selected Resources for Latin American Studies

Literature Resource Center. Gale Group.

Literature Resource Center provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, and critical analysis of authors from all ages and literary disciplines. Built on three author databases, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography, this resource also includes selected full-text critical material from other Gale Group critical series, plus the complete Scribner Writer Series (bio-critical essays) and the Twayne Authors Series.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Digital version of the 2008, 6 volume edition. Coverage includes biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. Utilize the general index to locate entries on your topic.

The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature, Vol. 2, The Twentieth Century (incl. bibliographies)

Also in print: PQ7081 .A1 C35 1996 Main

An excellent resource: v. 1. Discovery to modernism -- v. 2. The Twentieth century -- v. 3. Brazilian literature; Bibliographies.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter,
zeter@msu.edu
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference searches numerous online reference works simultaneously, including the Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.

What constitutes "common knowledge" and when must I cite a source?

See this brief explanation from Indiana University's Writing Tutorial Services Web site.

Michigan State University