Skip to main content
Michigan State University

WS 492, Spring 2016, Dr Tim Retzloff. Doing Local Queer History: Subject Encyclopedias

Using subject encyclopedas

Use subject encyclopedias to understand the background of your topic, or for context about unfamiliar names or events you encounter while using primary sources. Subject encyclopedias will often cite key scholarly works as well.

Finding Subject Encyclopedia Articles Through SearchPlus

STEP 1. Go to the library's home page at lib.msu.edu and look for the SearchPlus box. Type keywords on your topic.

MSU Libraries website with terms "hip hop education" in search box

 

STEP 2. You'll get a huge number of hits. Use the filters on the left to narrow your search. To narrow your results to articles in subject encyclopedias, limit the Content Type to Reference. (To do that, you must expand the Content Type list by clicking More.)

 

STEP 3. Now that the Content Type is limited to Reference, the results point only to articles in subject encyclopedias.

Subject encyclopedias in print

Christopher Isherwood Encyclopedia. David Garrett Izzo. McFarland, 2005.

Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. George E. Haggerty, ed. Garland, 2000.

Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements. JoAnne Myers. Scarecrow Press, 2013.

Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian Liberation Movement: Still the Rage. JoAnne Myers. Scarecrow, 2003.

Internet Lesbian and Gay Television Series, 1996-2014. Vincent Terrace. McFarland, 2015.

Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Bonnie Zimmerman, ed. Garland, 2000.

LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. Marc Stein, ed. Thomson Gale, 2004. Also online.

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture. David A. Gerstner, ed. Routledge, 2006.

Subject encyclopedias online

LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America. Marc Stein, ed. Thomson Gale, 2004. Also in print.

GLBTQ Encyclopedia [collaborative online project]. GLBTQ Project, 2003-2015.

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University