Indexes and Databases
AnthroSource
AnthroSource is the premier online resource for anthropologists serving
their research, teaching and professional needs. AnthroSource was
developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) and brings
100 years of anthropological resources to scholars online.
Anthropological Index Online
Index to periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
Social Sciences Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts,
covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Indexes 1,700
journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually
selected, relevant items, from over 3,300 of the world's leading
scientific and technical journals.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law
and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.
Anthropology Review Database (ARD)
The Anthropology Review Database is intended to improve the level
of access of anthropologists to anthropological literature by
making them more aware of what is being published and helping
them to evaluate its relevance to their own interests.
Ancient History
A list of online sources dealing with ancient and classical
studies, classical art and archaeology, early man in Australia, the
Crusades, megaliths, Anglo-Saxon history, Egypt, etc. The site
generates a second web page where the actual result is displayed. But
there are caveats; although the site says it was updated in December
2000, many links lead nowhere, there are mis-spellings, and a couple of
URLs are K-12 oriented, e.g. the Homework-Help list from "About, the
Human Internet."
WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than
35 million records describing items owned by MSU Libraries and
libraries around the world; each record indicates library holdings. It
is produced by the OCLC Online Computer Library Center and describes
books, manuscripts, computer data files, maps, computer programs,
musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals, sound
recordings magazines, and videotapes.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
This is an online version of an Oxford University Press
reference book, one of more than 100 titles in the Oxford Reference
Online set. Single books, all books in the set dealing with one subject
area, or the entire set can be keyword searched or browsed.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
This collection documents the relationships among peoples and
the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection
includes both published and unpublished accounts, narratives, diaries,
journals, and letters.
eHRAF: HRAF Collection of Ethnography
A collection of ethnographic and other texts indexed by culture
and subject. Cultures covered in this database are of two types: l.
traditional cultures 2. North American ethnic groups. Each
annual installment contains about 50,000 pages of text as well as
photographs, illustrations, charts, cultural summaries and
bibliographic data.
Subject Guide |
Denise ForroHead of InterLibrary Services and Anthropology Bibliographer
Michigan State University Libraries
100 Library
East Lansing, MI 48824-1048
Phone: 517-884-6458
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait