Archives of Sexuality & Gender, the largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Docuseek2 launched in 2012 as a joint project of Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films, two leaders in independent, social issue and educational film distribution.
The Docuseek2 Complete Collection provides exclusive educational streaming access to important films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films.
This digital resource allows students and researchers to access a vast and remarkable collection of primary source documents from the India Office Records held by the British Library, the single most important archive for the study of the East India Company.
eHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing information on world's prehistory. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Escalex is a database for food law and regulations, covering the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and EU harmonised countries. The various search lenses can be used to browse food law topics, locate specific answers or full documents, find legal definitions, and search substance limits.
***It is necessary to create a free account to access content***
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Other key features: statistical summaries by world area, language size, language status, language family, and country; extensive bibliography of references cited; over 200 color language maps.
This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.
According to the Foundation Center, the Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDOP) database provides subscribers with unprecedented access to a wide array of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Includes information on nearly 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs (with sponsoring company information), and grantmaking public charities, as well as a searchable database of 500,000 recently awarded grants.
The new "Foundation Portfolio" feature organizes funder-specific content in one convenient location in the application, and includes: the funder profile and most recent 990s and, particularly for the larger foundations: the ability to search within a funder's grants list, using customized search indexes; full-color downloadable charts that show the distribution of the funder's grants in multiple categories; funder-related news, requests for proposals (RPFs), job opportunities, publications and articles (updated daily); and trustees, officers, donors, and other key staff, with titles and affiliations. A special 990 Search feature allows subscribers to search across the text of every 990 that we have in our database attached to a grantmaker record. Updated weekly.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network) provides a current, evidence-based resource for diagnosis, treatment and teaching in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology and microbiology.
This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel, including many from private or neglected collections. Included are letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps.
The History of Feminism is a curated collection of primary and secondary resources from the Taylor and Francis collection relating to the long Nineteenth Century of feminism (1776-1928).
Created with the help of academic editor Professor Ann Heilmann, History of Feminism provides the ideal starting point for students and researchers who are studying this period of history as well as providing key pieces of primary content to aid research.
JBI EBP Database contains a unique suite of information to help healthcare professionals with evidence-based practice, including systematic reviews, evidence summaries, best practice information sheets, and evidence-based recommended practices.
Explore journals and research reports on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Research spans the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, Urban Studies, and many other disciplines.
The KKK Newspapers collection brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920s. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.
Medical Services and Warfare presents military, scientific, professional and personal perspectives on medicine during conflicts across North America and Europe between 1850 to 1927.
Users can utilise Handwritten Text Recognition to full-text search across professional and personal writings of Florence Nightingale or chart the progress of medicine during wartime with interactive data features, hospital records, correspondence, diaries, photographs and more.
This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available. The original images and the transcriptions can be viewed side by side.
This project provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. The core of the material is a magnificent collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
This platform is tailored for instructors and students at ASHA-accredited schools providing online access to textbooks, atlases, cases, and teaching materials in Communication Sciences and Disorders. Includes textbooks for Masters and Undergraduate programs in audiology and speech language pathology, case reports with review questions and answers, and videos of clinical cases.
Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Split across two modules, and including collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums, Migration to New Worlds brings together the movement and memories of millions across two centuries of mass migration.
Migration to New Worlds: The Century of Immigration concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement.
New! Migration to New Worlds: The Modern Era begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.
This is the new interface for LexisNexis Academic. From Dec 15, 2017 the old LexisNexis Academic interface will no longer be available to MSU users.
A comprehensive resource for finding information on millions of U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions.
To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from the LexisNexis Academic database, use Text Assembler.
Performance Design Archive Online covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Social Work Online pairs compelling documentaries with video lectures, client demonstrations, and relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 450,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually.
Swank licenses and distributes feature film content to non-theatrical markets including U.S. colleges and universities. 1,000 contemporary and classic movies are available to MSU-affiliated viewers for non-commercial educational and personal streaming video access during 2017-2018. Sub-title captioning is available on most films. Titles can be searched, and films are grouped in 17 categories for browsing.
Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends, and provide a valuable visual record for a breadth of interdisciplinary study.
**Available until July 2018 courtesy of the Broad College of Business** Trucost provides environmental reports on companies. Find direct and indirect costs for environmental hazards like greenhouse gases, smog, VOCs, fertilizer residues, waste landfills, acid rain, coal, and more.
Collection 1 titles:
Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005)
Parents (1926 to 2005)
Redbook (1903 to 2005)
Collection 2 titles:
Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
Essence (1970 to 2005)
Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)