Library Resources for Biostatistics
Resources and tools for use in Biostatistics.
Table of Contents:
Introduction to Biostatistics
Electronic Books and Resources
- Introductory Medical Statistics, 3rd edition
Introductory text aimed at a wide range of health care professionals.
- Principles of Medical Statistics
Geared towards helping clinicians understand the importance of statistics, and to help them interpret statistical information.
- Basic & Clinical Biostatistics, 4th Edition
Electronic textbook geared towards introducing Biostatistics to
the health care student and professional. Aimed towards the clinician,
but provides a good introduction to the topic for all students. Also
features an interactive self assessment test.
- Biostatistics and epidemiology
An e-book designed to introduce students and clinicians to biostatistics and epidemiology.
- Probability, statistics, and modelling in public health
- Introduction to Randomized Controlled Clinical Trials, Second Edition
Introduction to Randomized Controlled Clinical Trials provides a
concise presentation of the principles applied in this area. It details
the concepts behind randomization and methods for designing and
analyzing trials and also includes information on meta-analysis and
specialized designs, such as cross-over trials, cluster-randomized
designs, and equivalence studies.
A searchable Web database published by the American
Mathematical Society covering research literature in mathematics as
well as applied mathematics literature in areas such as physics,
engineering and biology.
Good collection of online statistics books, includes a section on Biostatistics. **This resource is restricted to 2 simultaneous users.**
- Statistical methods in medical research
This journal focuses on statistical modeling in medicine.
- Current Index to Statistics
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index
to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn
from 111 core journals that are fully indexed, non-core journals from
which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings
and edited books, and other sources.
- Dictionary of Statistics
This is an online version of an Oxford University Press
reference book, one of more than 100 titles in the Oxford Reference
Online set. Single books, all books in the set dealing with one subject
area, or the entire set can be keyword searched or browsed.
Health Statistics & Data Sets
This guide highlights health statistics sources and data sets
(raw data) available at the state, federal and international level on
selected health topics. Sources are primarily electronic and include
both free and library subscription databases.
Liaison to the Program in Public Health