Introduction
Sources of statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive; rather, it provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources.
Statistical Indexes & Databases
- StatistaStatista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightIndexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Please consult this guide for instructions on how to access materials that are not already digitized.
- ProQuest Statistical DataSetsThis is a powerful interdisciplinary database that assembles statistical information from government and private sources in one single interface. It aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes 14 billion data points accessible. Researchers are able to manipulate datasets, make comparisons, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without having to use additional software programs.
Getting Started: General and Comprehensive Sources
Business.gov helps small businesses understand their legal requirements, and locate government services supporting the nation’s small business community. This page on statistical resources provides links to government information producers for general business, consumer statistics, economic indicators, income and earnings, money and interest rates, production and sales, trade, and industries.
Historical Statistics of the United States contains essays and tables covering topics such as business organization and labor. Look under Part B (Work and Welfare) and Part C (Economic Structure and Performance).
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Business variables include: Detailed Consumer Expenditure, Business & Employee Counts by Industry (by NAICS Code), Consumer Price Index, Quality of Life & Consumer Profiles, and Market Segments. Reading the Basic Guide will help you get started.
Statistical Abstract of the United States – Business Enterprise. This section relates to the place and behavior of the business firm and to business initiative in the American economy. It includes data on the number, type, and size of businesses; financial data of domestic and multinational U.S. corporations; business investments, expenditures, and profits; and sales and inventories.
USA.gov - Business Data & Statistics is the government’s official portal to online information. This guide includes links to information on banking, business, earnings, economic analysis, regional information, and trade.
Data Archive
Need machine readable data sets? The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) data archive is a great place to start your search. It contains a number of studies listed under the business subject term. For example:
- American Customer Satisfaction Index
- County Business Patterns
- United States Business and Jobs: Structure and Changes by Sector and County, 1976-1988.
- United States Entrepreneurial Assessment, 2004.
Keep in mind that data sets may also be located in the topical areas of this guide. For more information take a look at the How to Find Numeric Data research guide.

Loading...
