Overview of current economic trends in Latin America and the Caribbean, including statistical information for the region. Features country-by-country economic analysis and national statistical profiles on population, national accounts, central government finances, balance of payments, external debt, and inflation. Each edition contains a special report on a major regional issue.
The IADB is the largest source of development financing for Latin America and the Caribbean. They offer research, data, and publications on a wide variety of topics from agriculture to water and sanitation in Latin American and Caribbean countries.
The Yearbook comprises four chapters. The first covers demographic and social indicators, reflecting special efforts to mainstream the gender perspective in statistical information. The second chapter presents economic statistics relating to trade, balance-of-payments and prices, as well as national accounts. The third chapter provides the quantitative information available on the environment. While priority is given to data from international sources, the electronic version also includes the data available and compiled by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) on each of the countries of the region. Given the abundance of different, sometimes conflicting, data now accessible to researchers through the Internet, special attention must be paid to the data sheets on which the source of the data, their definition and coverage are specified. This information is presented in the fourth chapter, which deals with methodology and metadata, supplementing the more specific information contained in the footnotes to each of the tables of this Yearbook.
In The Effects of Globalization in Latin America, Africa, and Asia, Kema Irogbe argues the forces of globalization, which include the IMF/World Bank, WTO, and Western media technology, are subordinated to the interests of multinational corporations under the tutelage of a lone superpower in strangling the development efforts of poor countries. Irogbe subjects the operations and the existing relationships among these international governmental and nongovernmental actors to the test of empirical reality and logical plausibility by drawing from the experiences of a varied selection of marginalized countries, such as Venezuela, Guatemala, Mexico, Brazil in Latin America; Nigeria, South Africa, and Ghana in Africa; and Iraq, Iran, India, Afghanistan, and Vietnam in Asia. The book argues that globalization is a sophisticated lexicon for the pursuit of a homogenized political, economic, and cultural world order, which is a recipe for unending global crises.
By the dawn of the 21st century, more than half of the world's population was living in urban areas, and demographic forecasts for the decades ahead estimate that by 2030, almost five billion people - out of a world population of eight billion -will be living in towns and cities. This volume explores the implications of this unprecedented expansion in the world's most urbanized region, Latin America, exploring the new urban reality, and the consequences for the wider developing world. This volume brings together studies from a range of disciplines to highlight some of the key issues regarding the changing nature of contemporary urban life, covering such issues as crime, democracy, housing and health policies.
Much of the scholarly and professional literature on development focuses either on the 'macro' level of national policies and politics or on the 'micro' level of development projects and household or community socio-economic dynamics. By contrast, this collection pitches itself at the 'meso' level with a comparative exploration of the ways in which local institutions - municipalities, local governments, city authorities, civil society networks and others - have demanded, and taken on, a greater role in planning and managing development in the Latin American region. The book's rich empirical studies reveal that local institutions have engaged upwards, with central authorities, to shape their policy and resource environments and in turn, been pressured from 'below' by local actors contesting the ways in which the structures and processes of local governance are framed. The examples covered in this volume range from global cities, such as Mexico and Santiago, to remote rural areas of the Bolivian and Brazilian Amazon. As a result the book provides a deep understanding of the diversity and complexity of local governance and local development in Latin America, while avoiding the stereotyped claims about the impact of globalisation or the potential benefits of decentralisation, as frequently stated in less empirically grounded analysis.
Call Number: MSU Main Library HV4050.5.A5 C58 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
This collection of essays challenges long-entrenched ideas about the history, nature, and significance of the informal neighborhoods that house the vast majority of Latin America's urban poor. Until recently, scholars have mainly viewed these settlements through the prisms of crime and drug-related violence, modernization and development theories, populist or revolutionary politics, or debates about the cultures of poverty. Yet shantytowns have proven both more durable and more multifaceted than any of these perspectives foresaw. Far from being accidental offshoots of more dynamic economic and political developments, they are now a permanent and integral part of Latin America's urban societies, critical to struggles over democratization, economic transformation, identity politics, and the drug and arms trades. Integrating historical, cultural, and social scientific methodologies, this collection brings together recent research from across Latin America, from the informal neighborhoods of Rio de Janeiro and Mexico City, Managua and Buenos Aires. Amid alarmist exposés, Cities from Scratch intervenes by considering Latin American shantytowns at a new level of interdisciplinary complexity.
This book offers five geographically and institutionally diverse case studies from Latin America, where some of the longest-running and most successful programs in this field have been conducted. Representing a wide variety of funding arrangements and outside involvement, the stories presented in the book rely on a qualitative approach and demonstrate the positive impact that community participation and people-oriented service solutions can have on slum upgrading efforts.A road map and practical, hands-on guide for local officials and policy makers as they attempt to design and manage slum upgrading and shelter projects, this book will be of particular interest to people and organizations working to increase service provision to low income urban areas.