Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Digital Research Data

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

A. Current and Anticipated Future Trends

Although existing disciplinary data repositories are likely to expand and more disciplinary data repositories may be established in coming years, it is anticipated that comprehensive services across all subject areas may not always be readily available.  In the absence of disciplinary options, the MSU Libraries offer an institutional option for university-supported researchers to share data by including it in our publicly-available library collections.

The creation of data will increase, and so will the need to maintain storage and access for data. Given limited resources, the amount of data will exceed the capacity of the Libraries to accept it, forcing us to prioritize.

B. Relationships with other resources

1. On campus branch or format collections

Special data formats that correspond with existing format collections will also be used to guide digital data collections, e.g: The Digital and Multimedia Center and Vincent Voice Library policies guide the collection of audio/visual materials and any materials requiring digitization. The Map Library policies guide the collection of digital maps and geospatial data. Data Services addresses numeric and statistical data.

Collection of non-digital data or other special materials are guided by Special Collections policies.

2. Regional or network resources

Disciplinary data repositories that are collectively supported by the academic/research community will be prioritized as a place of data deposit so as not to unnecessarily replicate data processing and curation efforts.

MSU has a consortial membership with the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), a social science data archive specializing in survey data. Social science survey data will be deposited with ICPSR when possible.

C. Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements

All subject area policy statements are used to determine the collection fit within the scope of existing subject areas collected by the Libraries. Only materials that adhere to the existing subject scope of the Libraries collections will be considered appropriate acquisitions.

Michigan State University