Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Best Bets: General History Primary Sources: United States

Chronological

America's Historical Imprints

Collected and catalogued by one of the world’s leading historical societies, the 25,000-plus short works in this new online resource represent an extensive, yet under-researched, record of American history, society, culture and contemporary life.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

This database takes the works currently captured from Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and makes them available online

Hobbies, Socialization, and Sports Periodicals, 1775-1889

Capturing the many things that nineteenth-century Americans did in their spare time, this collection includes periodicals from 1775-1889 dedicated to fairs and bazaars, public lectures, sporting events, hobbies, and more.

Hobbies, Socialization, and Sports Periodicals, 1775-1889

Capturing the many things that nineteenth-century Americans did in their spare time, this collection includes periodicals from 1775-1889 dedicated to fairs and bazaars, public lectures, sporting events, hobbies, and more.

Proquest Civil War Era

ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War. Content includes nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865.

Civil War Collections at Michigan State

MSU University Archives & Historical Collections's transcription and digitization of materialss related to the Civil War. These materials include hundreds of pages of correspondence, diaries, musters, reminiscences, and photographs.

Popular Culture in Britian and America, 1950 - 1940

Provides primary source information on the popular culture of the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Original archival material from libraries, including manuscripts, typescripts, and ephemera, as well as video clips, are included.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family

This collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974

Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 75,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 75,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials.

Loading

Thematic/Format

Hobbies, Socialization, and Sports Periodicals, 1775-1889

Capturing the many things that nineteenth-century Americans did in their spare time, this collection includes periodicals from 1775-1889 dedicated to fairs and bazaars, public lectures, sporting events, hobbies, and more.

Popular Culture in Britian and America, 1950 - 1940

Provides primary source information on the popular culture of the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Original archival material from libraries, including manuscripts, typescripts, and ephemera, as well as video clips, are included.

Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family

This collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974

Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 75,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 75,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials.

Digital National Security Archive

Contains a large collection of recently declassified national security information, including material on U.S. relations with Cuba, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Berlin, South Africa, etc.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)

FRUS presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies

Proquest Historical Newspapers

This resource includes the full text of the following historical newspapers: CHICAGO TRIBUNE (1849-1988, DETROIT FREE PRESS (1831-1922), LOS ANGELES TIMES (1881-1988), LOUISVILLE COURIER JOURNAL (1830-1922), NASHVILLE TENNESSEAN (1812-1922), NEW YORK TIMES (1851-2008), WALL STREET JOURNAL (1889-1994), WASHINGTON POST (1877-1995). It also includes historical black newspapers: ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (1931-2003),CHICAGO DEFENDER (1910-1975),LOS ANGELES SENTINAL (1934-2005) NEW AMSTERDAM NEWS (1922-1993), and the PITTSBURGH COURRIER (1911-2002).

ProQuest American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals

America's Historical Imprints

Collected and catalogued by one of the world’s leading historical societies, the 25,000-plus short works in this new online resource represent an extensive, yet under-researched, record of American history, society, culture and contemporary life.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

This database takes the works currently captured from Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and makes them available online

American Memory (Library of Congress)

Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more

HarpWeek

HarpWeek provides indexing and full text of Harper's Weekly, an important journal documenting American society and culture during the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Gilded Age.

Emergence of American Adverstising, 1850-1920

The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA) presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

Loading
Michigan State University