Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Best Bets: General History Primary Sources: African American

Chronological

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record

The hundreds of images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public

Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice, 1490-2007

Documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Evans Digital Collection (Early American Imprints, Series I : 1639-1800). 

Browse "Blacks as authors" for primary works written by figures such as Aethopian, Benjamin Banneker (1731-1806), Olaudah Equiano (b. 1745), Johnson Green (1757-1786), James Albert Ukawsaw Gronniosaw, Prince Hall (1748-1807), Jupiter Hammon (1711-ca.1800), Lemuel Haynes (1753-1833), Absalom Jones (1746-1818), John Marrant (1755-1791), Joseph Mountain (1758-1790), Thomas Powers (1776/7-1796), Stephen Smith (1769/70-1797), Phillis Wheatley (1753-1784).

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922

This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s extraordinary holdings of slavery and abolition materials delivers more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years.

Black Abolitionist Archive

The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement

Proquest Civil War Era

ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War. Content includes nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865.

From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909

This collection from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division presents 397 pamphlets, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.

Archives Unbound

Includes collections, such as The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle, Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984, "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 (among many others)

Digital Collections at MSU: Black Panthers

A curated collection of primary source materials from and about the Black Panthers sourced from MSUL's Special Collections.

Television News of the Civil Rights Era

The current archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke.

The American Mosaic: The African American Experience (AAE)

Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The American Mosaic: The African American Experience (AAE) is a wide ranging online database collection on African American history and culture

Loading

Thematic/Format

Black Thought and Culture

Provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.

Black Drama: 1850 to the Present

This edition of Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925

This compilation of printed texts from the libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill traces how Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life.

Oxford African American Studies Center

In addition to reference sources, OAAS also provides a large selection of primary sources related to African American history spanning several centuries, covering social, cultural, intellectual, and political developments.

Archives Unbound

Includes collections, such as The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle, Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984, "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 (among many others)

Television News of the Civil Rights Era

The current archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke.

Freedom Now : An Archival Project of Tougaloo College and Brown University

This database currently includes about 200 documents in two categories. Student researchers found documents relating to the Mississippi Freedom Movement in the Tougaloo College Archives, and to the Brown-Tougaloo Cooperative Exchange in the Brown University Archives

 

African American Newspapers, 1827 - 1998 

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. 

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 

Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535 - 1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia

Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection.

Proquest Historical Newspapers

This resource includes the full text historical black newspapers: ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (1931-2003),CHICAGO DEFENDER (1910-1975),LOS ANGELES SENTINAL (1934-2005) NEW AMSTERDAM NEWS (1922-1993), and the PITTSBURGH COURRIER (1911-2002).

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922

This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s extraordinary holdings of slavery and abolition materials delivers more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years.

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record

The hundreds of images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public

Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice, 1490-2007

Documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Black Abolitionist Archive

The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers Project, 1936-1938

This collection contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA)

Loading
Michigan State University