LibGuides: GLG 361 : Petrology: Plume Debate

Core Resources

Dynamics of Plate Tectonics and Mantle Convection [online] by Joao C. Duarte (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323857338
Publication Date: 2023-02-24
Dynamics of Plate Tectonics and Mantle Convection, written by specialists in the field, gathers state-of-the-art perspectives on the dynamics of plate tectonics and mantle convection.
Dynamics of Plate Tectonics and Mantle Convection by Joao C. Duarte (Editor)
Call Number: QE511.4 .D96 2023
ISBN: 9780323857338
Publication Date: 2023-02-24
Dynamics of Plate Tectonics and Mantle Convection, written by specialists in the field, gathers state-of-the-art perspectives on the dynamics of plate tectonics and mantle convection.
Mantle Convection and Surface Expressions by Hauke Marquardt (Editor); Maxim Ballmer (Editor); Sanne Cottaar (Editor); Jasper Konter (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119528586
Publication Date: 2021-06-09
A multidisciplinary perspective on the dynamic processes occurring in Earth's mantle
Plates, Plumes, and Planetary Processes [online] by Gillian R. Foulger; Donna M. Jurdy
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780813724300
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Online copy of Geological Society of America Special Paper #430
Plates, Plumes, and Planetary Processes [paper] by Gillian R. Foulger; Donna M. Jurdy
Call Number: QE1 .G453 no. 430
ISBN: 0813724309
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Paper copy of Geological Society of America Special Paper #430, 997 pages!
Plates, Plumes, and Paradigms [online] by Gillian R. Foulger
ISBN: 0813723884
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Online copy of the Geological Society of America Special Paper #388
Plates, Plumes and Paradigms [paper] by Gillian R. Foulger, James H. Natland, Dean C. Presnall, Don L. Anderson
Call Number: QE1 .G453 no. 388
ISBN: 9780813723884
Publication Date: 2005
Paper copy of Geological Society of America Special Paper #388
Mantle Plumes: Their identification through time [online] by Richard E. Ernst; Kenneth L. Buchan
Call Number: QE1 .G453 no. 352
ISBN: 0813723523
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Online copy of Geological Society of America Special Paper #352
Mantle Plumes: Their identification through time [paper] by Richard E. Ernst; Kenneth L. Buchan
Call Number: QE1 .G453 no. 352
ISBN: 0813723523
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Paper copy of Geological Society of America Special Paper #352

Mantle Plumes and their Effects
Published in 2017.
Written by Mainak Choudhuri and Michal Nemčok

Scholarly Articles

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
1785-
GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Its over 1.7 million citations, many with abstracts, cover the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. It scans over 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, and reports. Most U.S. Geological Survey publications and many state geological surveys are indexed, as are U.S. and Canadian theses and dissertations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of fulltext dissertations and theses since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for earlier periods. Includes MSU dissertations and theses.

Broader overview books

Global Tectonics by Philip Kearey; Frederick John Vine; Keith A. Klepeis
Call Number: QE511.4 .K43 2009
ISBN: 1405107774
Publication Date: 2009-01-20
A fully revised third edition of this highly acclaimed text written by eminent authors including one of the pioneers of plate tectonic theory Major revisions to this new edition reflect the most significant recent advances in the field, including new and expanded chapters on Precambrian tectonics and the supercontinent cycle and the implications of plate tectonics for environmental change Combines a historical approach with process science to provide a careful balance between geological and geophysical material in both continental and oceanic regimes.
Plates vs. plumes: A geological controversy [online] by Foulger, Gillian R
ISBN: 1444336795
Publication Date: 2010
Online copy of the 2010 book.