Michigan State University

RCAH master guide

Online bonus! Cornell Hip-Hop Collection

Graphic from Cornell Hip Hop archive

Cornell University has an outstanding Hip Hop collection. Many parts are not online yet, but these two sections have been digitized:

Online bonus! NOLA Hip Hop and Bounce Archive

NOLA Hip Hop and Bounce archive logo

The Amistad Research Center at Tulane University recently established the NOLA Hip Hop and Bounce Archive. Their initial focus is to collect and digitize video oral history interviews with leading hip hop and bounce artists.

Black comic artists

African Americans are extremely under-represented in mainstream comics. However, there are dozens of Black artists involved in underground comix, and our Comic Art Collection has some of their work.

Search the MSU library catalog.

  • Limit to Special Collections.
  • Author search anyabwile, dawud
  • Author search baker, kyle
  • Author search billingsley, ray
  • Author search cowan, denys
  • Author search hendrix, shepherd
  • Author search knight, keith
  • Author search onli, turtel
  • Author search tooks, lance
  • Title search askarihodari
  • Title search african american classics

Hip hop OUTSIDE Special Collections

The purpose of this page is mainly to help you find material in Special Collections, but remember that a lot of material on hip hop culture will be in other parts of the library.

Books on graffiti (art) and deejaying (music) will be in the Fine Arts Library. Videos of breakdancing will be in the Digital & Multimedia Center. You'll want to try searching the entire catalog as well as limiting to Special Collections.

Michigan State University