Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Terrorism: Find Articles

Contents

Articles & Databases provides you with links to reference databases where you will be able to find articles from scholarly and popular sources.  SearchPlus is always a great place to start.  In addition, one may want to explore the various databases listed under the Finding Articles tab in the Political Science / Public Policy Resources Research Guide or the Criminal Justice Resources Research Guide.

SearchPlus

Don't know where to start?   Beginning in the Fall Semester 2014, the MSU Libraries is offering a discovery layer or interface called SearchPlus.  SearchPlus pulls together a large number of databases (including the Library Catalog) into a unified search engine, increasing one's chances of finding results by keyword or phrase.  Whenever possible, links are provided directly to the online source identified.

So this is a great tool for undergraduates not knowing where to start.   It is also a good starting point for graduate students and faculty looking for materials outside their established silos.  Once you do a search; note how SearchPlus offers a large number of facets on the left side to refine your search.

SearchPlus is a starting tool.   Advanced researchers will still want to explore more deeply in specialized databases, particularly those that are not covered by SearchPlus.

Selected databases

Advanced undergraduates and graduate students willing to dig deeper should explore the following resources.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign govenment sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.

Homeland Security Digital Library. The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. It supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research. It provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets identified by CHDS master's degree participants and instructors. Courtesy of the Naval Postgraduate School.

International Political Science Abstracts. A bibliographic database produced since 1951 by the International Political Science Association that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. The abstracts summarize the source articles. Coverage is from 1989 to the present. Articles in English are abstracted in English; those in other languages are abstracted in French, with all titles translated into English.  Print volumes for vols. 1-38, 1951-1988, are available in the stacks at JA36 .I5

Issue Lab the Foundation Center is working to more effectively gather, index, and share the collective intelligence of the social sector. They provide free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems.

PAIS (1915 to date).   Combines PAIS International and PAIS Archives into one new database. Indexes selected books, government documents, and periodical articles on contemporary public issues and the making of public policy.

Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) . Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and more. Coverage dates back to 1964.

Policy Archivea comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

PolicyFile - database of research and policy briefs from hundreds of think tanks (mostly U.S. based) that address policy issues, both foreign and domestic.

Political Science Complete (EBSCO). Provides full text for over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 1995 journals. The database also features more than 189 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.  Note:  This database is covered by SearchPlus; however SearchPlus will only show 200 maximum hits for any given search.

Public Administration Abstracts (1974 to date). Covers essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 88,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Mostly bibliographic citations.

Social Sciences Collections Coordinator

Michigan State University