Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy: Maps & Geospatial Data

Levels of Collecting Intensity

 The greater detail of geographic information, the more voluminous (and expensive) it is.  Therefore the following geographic priorities are set for the most detailed systematic collection.  However selected detailed acquisitions may be made for places of note or for its subject matter of interest for any place in the world.

  • Michigan: All scales; topographic, geologic, hydrologic, transportation, political, demographic, relief.  Antiquarian maps are actively collected.
  • Great Lakes States: All scales; reference and thematic maps, natural resources. Antiquarian maps are actively collected.
  • United States: Reference and thematic maps, including historical materials.  States closer to Michigan will be collected with greater detail than others, however interesting features and topics will be collected regardless of location.  Topographic maps up to 1:24,000 scale will be collected and all editions retained.  Selected antiquarian maps are actively collected.
  • Canada: Reference and thematic maps, including historical materials. Topographic coverage up to 1:50,000 will be collected, with emphasis on areas in proximity to the United States and other areas of interest. Detailed geologic mapping with emphasis on on areas in proximity to the United States and other areas of interest.  Some antiquarian maps will be collected.
  • Mexico    Reference and thematic maps, including historical materials.  Topographic coverage up to 1:50,000 will be collected, with emphasis on areas in proximity to the United States and other areas of interest. Detailed geologic mapping with emphasis on areas in proximity to the United States and other areas of interest.  Some antiquarian maps will be collected.
  • World: Reference and thematic maps of Earth as a whole, continents, regions, and nations, including historical materials. World atlases and road atlases will be acquired yearly.   Regions in Title VI Programs at MSU will receive greater attention and be collected at greater detail than other areas.  These are: Africa, Asia (East, Central, South, and Southeast).  Topographic coverage will be collected up to 1:250,000 scale, with more detailed coverage for particular areas of research interest.  Detailed geologic mapping will be acquired only in areas of particular interest.  Antiquarian maps are selectively collected, especially for areas of research interest.  Also, we will consider acquisitions in areas of particular and ongoing research interest to MSU faculty. 

Academic Library Collection Development Policies often communicate collection intensity levels using the Library of Congress classification breakdown as you see below.  The MSU sheet map collection is currently arranged using the American Geographical Society system, which is

LC Call Number Range. Subject AGS Classification Equivalent Collection Level*
G1000-3122 Atlases    
G1000-1000.5 Atlases of the moon, planets, etc.   1
G1001-1046 World atlases. Atlases of the Earth   3
G1050-1052 Northern and Southern Hemispheres   3
G1053 Tropics. Torrid Zone   3
G1054-1055 Polar regions. Frigid Zone   2-3
G1059-1061 Maritime atlases (General)   2
G1100-3102 By region or country   3
G1105-1692 North America   3- 4
G1110-1114 Greenland   3
G1115-(1193) Canada   3-4
G1200-1534.24 United States   4
G1535-1537 Caribbean area   3
G1540-1542 Latin America (General)   3
G1545-1549 Mexico   3
G1550-(1594) Central America   3
G1600-1692 West Indies   3
G1700-1779 South America   3
G1791-2196 Europe   3
G2110-2196 Former Soviet republics. Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (U.S.S.R.). Russia (Empire) G2200-2444.84 Asia   2
G2445-2739 Africa   3-4
G2740-2799 Australasia   2
G2800-3064 Oceans (General)   2
G3100-3102 Antarctica   2-3
G3122 Atlases of imaginary, literary, and mythological regions, etc., A-Z   2
G3160-3171 Globes   2
G3180-9980 Maps    
G3180-3182 Universe. Solar system 000, 010, 1040 2
G3190-3191 Celestial maps   2
G3195-3197 Moon 049 1
G3200-3202 World. Earth 050 2
G3210-3221 Northern and Southern Hemispheres 057, 055 2
G3240-3241 Tropics. Torrid Zone   2
G3250-3251 Temperate Zone   2
G3260-3272 Polar regions. Frigid Zone 060-075 2
G3290-9880 Maps by region or country    
G3290-5667 America. Western Hemisphere    
G3300-5184 North America 100 3
G3380-3384 Greenland 110 2
G3400-(3612) Canada 120 3
G3700-4384 United States 800 3-4
G4110-G4114 Michigan 843 4
G4390-4392 Caribbean area   2-3
G4410-4763 Mexico 210 3
G4800-4874 Central America 220-227 2-3
G4900-5184 West Indies 230-243 2-3
G5200-5667 South America 250-267 2-3
G5670-8904 Eastern Hemisphere. Eurasia, Africa, etc.    
G5700-7342 Europe 600-687 2-3
G7000-7342 Former Soviet republics. Union of Soviet Socialist 670-687 2-3
Republics (U.S.S.R.). Russia (Empire)   2-3
G7400-8198.54 Asia 400-494 2-3
G8200-8904 Africa 300-380 3-4
G8950-9084 Australasia 500-531 2
G9095-9794 Oceans (General) 700-787 2
G9800-9804 Antarctica 070 2
GA1-1776 Mathematical geography. Cartography   3-4

*RLG  Conspectus levels:  0) Not collected   1)Basic layperson   2)Undergraduate   3)Research   4)Comprehensive
 

Michigan State University