Michigan State University

Turfgrass Collection Development Statement

Turfgrass Collection Development Statement

Turfgrass Collection Development Statement

Michigan State University Libraries

 

Collection Development Statement

 

TURFGRASS

(updated:  April 2015)

 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

Curricular and Research Needs
The turfgrass collections of the Michigan State University Main Library support the curricular and research needs of the faculty, staff and students primarily in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources (CANR), AgBioResearch (formerly the Michigan Agricultural Experiment Station) and MSU Extension. Most impacted are the following CANR departments:  Crop and Soil Sciences, Horticulture, Plant Pathology, Landscape Architecture, and Entomology, as well as the Institute of Agricultural Technology.

Crop and Soil Sciences offer a 2-year certificate program and the B.S., M.S. and Ph.D.  degrees. Plant Pathology and Entomology offer B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees.  Through the School of Planning, Design and Construction, Landscape Architecture offers B.S. and M.S. degrees.

Certificate programs, in both Golf Turf, and Commercial and Sports Turf, are offered by the Institute of Agricultural Technology.

MSU’s turfgrass programs are routinely ranked in the top tier in the world.

In addition, Virtual U. courses are being offered in turf; and the first MSU degrees awarded outside the country (in Beijing) were turfgrass degrees as a part of the 5-yr. American Sino Turfgrass Education Program (including a former TIC student employee).

This collection also supports a broader range of research and teaching interests in areas such as: Sports Management, Geography, Environmental Policy, Urban and Regional Planning, Water Resources, Irrigation Engineering, and Area studies, within a wide range of University departments.

Also of major significance here is the unique-within-turfgrass use and reliance by other academic institutions, professional organizations, and both not-for-profit and for-profit enterprises throughout the turfgrass industry worldwide of the Turfgrass materials, print and online, which the MSU Libraries collect and make available, with both formal and continuing education components.    This is via both traditional inter-library loan channels, delivery via digital hosting of turf-related materials, as well as access via the Turfgrass Information File (TGIF) database online.

History of the Collection/ Existing Strengths and Emphases

Because of the fundamental role of Agriculture within the evolution of the University, the foundational collecting in support of turf science programs began as a part of that effort.  See the historical review of that context within the Agriculture Statement. 

 

Beginning in the early 1960s, however, the Libraries began more focused  collecting within the turfgrass arena, primarily at the behest of Dr. James B Beard, a young member of the (then) Farm Crops faculty just beginning to establish a systematic research, teaching, and extension program in turf science at MSU.  Dr. Beard’s bibliographic bent also resulted in substantial gift acquisitions which continued throughout his tenure at MSU, until 1975.

 In 1968, the O.J. Noer Memorial Turfgrass Collection was established.  During his career, O.J. Noer accumulated books, journals, and conference proceedings related to the science, culture, and maintenance of turfgrass. Upon his death, this legacy fell in turn to Charles Wilson and the O.J. Noer Research Foundation, which was formed to honor his name in support of turfgrass research and education. It was soon voted to place this valuable collection into the hands of an accredited institution of higher learning so it would be universally available to turfgrass students. MSU was selected at the urging of Dr. Beard, then of the Dept. of Crop and Soil Science, and Dr. Richard E. Chapin, then-Director of Libraries -- after the University of Wisconsin Libraries, the far-more logical location for the collection, had declined the offer because of a lack of concurrent financial support for ‘processing’ (which was essentially a cataloging, marking, and parking issue at that point in time).

Other private contributions to build the Noer Collection included materials from Dr. James Watson, Mr. Thomas Mascaro, Dr. John Gallager and Dr. Beard himself.  Valuable books and publications were solicited by Charles G. Wilson and James Latham on the behalf of the O.J. Noer Foundation. After the initial donations push, the O. J. Noer Foundation supported the purchase, when necessary for acquisition, of historic items not yet owned through an annual subvention on a reimbursement basis, which continued until this arrangement was converted, around 2000, to an ongoing pledge to the TIC Endowment.  This is one of, if not the, longest ongoing external financial support contribution(s) made to the MSU Libraries by any organization or supporter.

The Noer Collection materials were primarily intended as a ‘use collection’, and thus available for interlibrary loan, so that only a few specific materials were located in Special Collections.  The vast majority of the collection, as today, resided as an interfiled collection within the open stacks. While this did maximize use and accessibility, it also resulted in some collection degradation and some outright loss.  Unfortunately, there is no surviving record that I have been able to locate or identify, of the titles originally donated to MSU, other than those as noted in the work directly below.

In 1973, the Libraries published The O. J. Noer Memorial Turfgrass Collection: A Bibliography (see:  http://www.lib.msu.edu/cgi-bin/flink.pl?recno=17444) a 20 page booklet which outlined the extent of the collection, and indeed a short-form of the perceived literature ‘of turfgrass science’, via a classified approach, including:

          Turfgrass Conference Proceedings

          Scientific and Technical Periodicals

          Turfgrass and Lawn Books

The introductory cover letters provide the earliest extant documentation regarding the mission, objectives and methods of the Noer Collection, including:

“It is the goal of those who have been involved in establishing the O. J. Noer Memorial Turfgrass Collection that it become the primary depository for both the historical and current turfgrass literature where scholars, students, and interested individuals from throughout the world can look to in obtaining the published information available concerning turfgrass science, culture, and management.”  (Beard, [p. ii])

Beard later published, via the MSU Press, his landmark Turfgrass Bibliography:  From 1672 to 1972, which for the first time defined the full extent of the literature (see:  http://www.lib.msu.edu/cgi-bin/flink.pl?recno=9280 ).   Based largely on the Noer Collection holdings, it importantly notes:

“A significant portion of this turfgrass literature appears in obscure state and regional turfgrass publications that are not included in such standard reference sources as Biological Abstracts, Herbage Abstracts, Agricultural Index, Horticultural Abstracts, Bioresearch Index, and Crop Science Abstracts.”      (Beard, Beard, and Martin, 1977, p. v)

After Beard’s departure from MSU in 1975, the focus on continued aggressive collection development fell off significantly, and aside from the mainstream literature, Noer Foundation historic item ‘buys’, and occasional donations, there was limited acquisition activity.  Most acquired historic works using the Noer monies during this period related to grass husbandry within its broader agricultural context, and most were destined for Special Collections.

That abruptly changed in 1983/1984, when the Turfgrass Information Center was created, primarily to begin the process of constructing the Turfgrass Information File (TGIF) database.  Funded in part (about 50%) by soft monies through the United States Golf Association (USGA) Green Section Turfgrass Research Program, TGIF was intended to index and abstract the turfgrass literature and produce an online entity serving the research community, with an emphasis on the fugitive literature, as noted earlier by Beard.  It was an unusual enterprise; a user community partnering with an academic institution to pursue bibliographic control of its own literature – based, of course, on what was already recognized as the strongest public turfgrass collection in the world – the Noer Collection.   The original USGA/MSU agreement specified that one of MSU’s contributions to the project would include continuing to build the collections, including acquisitions, to include “all” materials.  Thus was focused staffing dedicated for the first time to turfgrass materials, including the construction, and later, hosting, of the online dataset – as well as continuing collection development work.

Very early on then, the Noer Collection became synonymous with the entirety of MSU’s turfgrass holdings, regardless of origin or acquisition path.  It includes, without distinction (other than the bookplates), original Noer donations, subsequent donations (other than the Beard Collection, noted below), and purchases.

Donations, both serial and monographic, became (and continue as) an important collection development strategy.  Major donations have included materials from the USGA Green Section, Golf Course Superintendents Association of America, Dr. William Daniel, Dr. Kenyon T. Payne, Dr. James Beard, Mr. Fred Opperman, Dr. Paul Rieke, the family of Dr. Kent Kurtz, the Milwaukee Metropolitan Sanitary District (MMSD), Dr. John Hall III, the National Turfgrass Evaluation Program (NTEP), the Scotts Corporation, Mr. Stanley Zontek, Mr. Jerry Matthews, the family of Dr. Fred Grau, Professor Warren Rauhe, the family of Dr. James Watson, Dr. Victor A. Gibeault, and Dr. Stephen T. Cockerham – as well as hundreds of smaller, and in some cases, ongoing, donations.

In 2003, when the James B Beard Turfgrass Library Collection was dedicated within the Turfgrass Information Center, the second named turf-related collection at MSU came into being.  This non-circulating reference collection was the strongest privately-held turf collection in the world, and the Beards continue to transfer materials into the present, as received and no-longer required for their ongoing scholarly work.  In 2014, they published, with the MSU Press, their Turfgrass History and Literature: Golf, Lawns and Sports, an annotated bibliography of the turfgrass literature, which runs 648 pages in a substantially edited-down version.  This work, for the first time in print, defines the context, extent, and nature of the literature, based in large part on the MSU Turf Collections (including their own).  Use permissions for the annotations and biographical content within the work will be held by the MSU Libraries for use within the Turfgrass Information File after an embargo period.  In addition, it constitutes a substantial resource for the hoped-for acquisition of materials not presently owned in either the Noer or Beard Collections (which we have been using to identify needs and potential sources for many years already via draft/manuscript versions of the work).

 While we cannot define precisely the exact relative strength of MSU’s overall turfgrass holdings, I think we can say with some confidence that it is, at least, an order of magnitude greater in size than the next strongest public collection.  Functionally, the Collections are the public collection-of-record archive for turfgrass science, the practice of turfgrass management, and the broader turfgrass industry.  In addition, the Libraries’ aggressive efforts at digitizing turfgrass materials have created the largest single electronic repository of turf material in the world.

It is also important to note that the Turfgrass Information Center Endowment is currently the largest single endowment within the MSU Libraries portfolio.  See:  http://tic.lib.msu.edu/goals.html.  Development work, whether in-kind donations or otherwise, is an important task in the turf efforts, coordinate with the more traditional collections development activities.

As it has evolved then, and as a general policy, the Noer Collection is intended to function as a circulating collection with greater access and wider use conditions, including support of ILL.  The Beard Collection is a non-circulating archive collection.  Both will have content within Special Collections.  At the present time, the Noer Collection materials held in location tf  (ie. within the Turfgrass Information Center) function as a partial repository of ‘medium-rare’ holdings, and emphasize material not held within the Beard Collection, and more importantly, not easily or affordably replaced if lost from the primary location of Noer Collection content within the stacks.  Thus, there is substantial duplication between the Noer and Beard Collections – which are, very roughly speaking, about equal in linear footage.

Of significance also is the fact that the Beards continue to retain a not-insignificant amount of older historic material in their possession, with a presumed and indicated intent to donate that material to the Beard Collection.  It is likely that a higher percentage of that material will go to Special Collections as a location than has in the past from the Beards.

Vertical file structures within the Turfgrass Information Center also house a wide range of materials, including 1) unbound (and some uncat.) partial-run serials , 2) separates, reprints, and loose items (Sequential),  3) organizations , 4) commercial materials,  5) yardage guides  (& scorecards), 6) multimedia (cat. & uncat), 7) People, 8) printed e-newsletters, 9) blueprints and flats, and 10) digital.  Other informal vertical file systems hold materials awaiting disposition and further processing.  In a number of cases, these are likely future transfers to Special Collections. In some of these Vertical File structures, Noer and Beard materials are filed separately; in others they are interfiled.

 

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

 

Anticipated future trends

Turfgrass science is likely to continue as a research and teaching focus within the University, and as well as a perceived area of excellence within the MSU Libraries.  Within the state, national, and world economies, the turfgrass industry is a major economic activity as a component of landscape management, sports management, public lands, and public discretionary spending.  Turfgrass is the largest irrigated ‘crop’ in the United States, and is estimated to cover a land area the size of the state of Pennsylvania.  As both a professional and public issue, turf science will increasing be a focus of public policy debate, and will be heavily impacted by future social change, economics, technology, biotechnology, and, particularly, local politics.  Focal points include GMO turfgrasses, water use, nutrient & pesticide use, carbon issues, maintenance intensity, user expectations, land use decisions, land reclamation, rights-of-way management, and community values regarding both public and private open space.
 

An aggressive digitization program of print turfgrass materials aims to make as much of the Collections’ content available as can be processed with appropriate permissions.  Thus digital content archiving, in addition to the archiving of born-digital content, will be of ever-increasing importance within the whole of the MSU Libraries’ turf-related efforts.

 

In addition, adding research data is a logical step forward, and compliments the well-established archive function of the Center in established research initiatives, such as the United States Golf Association’s (USGA) Turfgrass and Environmental Research Program.
Original research data, at present, are primarily published through summaries of research presented via the refereed, report, processional, and proceedings literature.  Very little data is currently available online within the discipline as a whole, beyond that of personal exchange via colleagues, with the notable exception of the National Turfgrass Evaluation Program (NTEP), which compiles species and cultivar trial data.

 

 

Relationships with other resources

1. On campus branch or format collections, if any

Business Library: Tourism and hospitality aspects.

Digital & Media Center: Non-print format items, both physical and digital.

Engineering Library: Agricultural engineering.

Special Collections: Historic turfgrass and grasses-within-agricultural works items; parts of              Scotts Archive and other turfgrass-related archive materials received.

Digital Information and Web Services:  Digital assets presentation and curation.

Digital Research Data:  Data curation.

 

2. Regional or network resources, if any

As the primary repository of the worldwide turfgrass literature, we are very much a net-lender within this area. Other somewhat credible collections are located at Penn State University, the National Agricultural Library, the United States Golf Association, and at the LA 84 Foundation Sports Library.  Overall, even most land-grant institutions have relatively weak turf collections, aside from the mainstream refereed journal and major-publisher (eg. Wiley) offerings.

In addition, significant worldwide use of turf-related MSU digital assets (over 16 million pdf views in 2014) is a primary outreach vehicle and use measure.  Questions remain, however, about metric validity and longitudinal reliability of such measures. There appears no question, however, that the material is heavily utilized online, and particularly when it overlaps with other disciplines and interests, such as sports and local history.

 

3. Relationships to Other Resources Treated in Other Policy Statements

 

Agriculture:  plant sciences, plant disease and pest management, landscape design, irrigation, pastures and forages, ornamental grasses.

Biological Science/Natural History: applied areas of plant science related to plant communities, which a turfgrass community is.

Botany: applied areas of plant science related to plant communities, especially ‘the grasses’, and well as grass taxonomy and breeding.

Business: Leisure and tourism services, club & hospitality management.

Digital Research Data:

Engineering: agricultural and biosystems engineering, water, irrigation.

Environmental Studies: natural resources management, sustainability programs, pesticide use and pollution, water use, land use, wildlife and habitat.

Geology: soil sciences.

International Development: Land use, environmental issues, tourism.

Landscape Architecture: site design and specification, golf course architecture.

Parks and Recreation: site and facility planning, operations and landscape management, tourism.

Public Policy: Public administration, governmental services, regulatory aspects.

Special Collections:  Rare and unusual materials, archival materials, comics.

Sports: especially those utilizing and dependent on turf surfaces, such as golf, football, soccer, etc., and golf courses.

Urban Planning: Open space, recreational facilities, and brownfields.

 

Analysis of the Subject Field

 

Chronology of the subject: emphasis/restrictions
The emphasis is on all aspects of historic and current research and management practice in turfgrass culture.   ‘Turfgrass’ is defined as grass or grass-like ground covers used in golf courses, parks, sports fields, lawns, sod farms, roadsides, airfields, cemeteries, institutional grounds, and for other utility, recreational or aesthetic purposes.  It can and does extend to the use of non-living components and surfaces to meet the same management objectives.

 

 In all cases, acquisition is hopefully by donation, with purchasing as necessary if donation cannot be arranged (applies to both serials (very successfully) and monographs (far less successfully, except for historic items)).

 Turf materials are acquired regardless of a) ultimate classification or b) housing location.


Languages of resources collected: exclusions/emphases/translations
English is the primary language within the collections, but all other languages, including translations and even pirate editions, are collected. 


Geography of the subject: emphases/restrictions
While the bulk of the collection covers the USA, Canada, and the UK, all locations are collected.


Format of the resources collected: restrictions if any

All available formats are collected.  Electronic materials availability information is closely tracked via TGIF at the article or item level, so even if we do not hold print or have electronic access to an item at MSU it is listed within TGIF – since TGIF is intended to be an exhaustive index to the literature, regardless of availability to any particular party (including us at MSU).
Archival and Manuscript gifts may be accepted on a case by case basis.

Digital content, with corresponding hosting permissions (public or restricted access), are aggressively collected, to date entirely as gifts, with one major exception, for addition to the digital assets.  See:  http://tic.msu.edu/pubjrnlbrowse.htm .  This form of ‘collection development’ is already as important as the acquisition of print materials, and it must be continually kept in mind that the user community of concern is far broader than just the MSU-user base. So, for example, it may be important to try and acquire digital-load permissions for some materials already licensed to MSU users via commercial channels, because most TGIF users cannot utilize that access (for example, turf-related theses and dissertations loaded within ProQuest and not publicly-available). 

 

Date of publication of resources collected: emphases if any

All dates of publication are collected; with historic materials or back-runs of serials hopefully acquired by donation (or loan for digitization, if that is the only avenue of ‘acquisition’).

Special material type considerations

Club Histories” are one-time volumes written to celebrate anniversaries (sometimes 25, 50, 75, and, most importantly, 100 years) of golf and country clubs (and thus, often also with the golf course(s) with which the organization is associated).  With limited print runs, and often limited holdings even within local public libraries, these works often include unique chapters on course-specific golf course architecture, the physical evolution of the course through time, and golf course maintenance practices.  Because of the explosion of golf courses opened between 1895 and 1930, we are currently in the peak window of the production and availability of these items.

 

We generally do not buy these items unless they are: 1) associated with a) Michigan courses or b) African courses,  2) annotated as being ‘architecturally significant’ to the discipline as a whole (independent of the specific course in question) by Cornish & Hurdzan (2005),  3) involve architects or golf courses with whom we have special interests (eg. the Matthews family), 4) are post-2005 and are deemed ‘architecturally significant’ using a criteria similar to that of Cornish & Hurdzan, or 5) are actually a Course History (which see below). 

If within scope, normally most purchase acquisitions are of used copies, since there is typically not a commercial distribution of these items.  Often these are produced as ‘member-only benefits’, with very limited print runs.  They often do not have ISBNs associated with the item itself.  Catalogs are the primary source to acquire these items.

 

We do receive gifts of these items, if unheld, for addition to the collection and processing within TGIF.  They are also very good candidates for donation solicitation; from golfers/members, course superintendents, collectors, the club itself, or from specialized publishers that target this (very distributed) market (much as high-school yearbook publishers do – some, in fact, work both those markets).

There are 2 strong ‘public’ collections of record for these materials in North America, 1) the United States Golf Association (USGA) Library in Far Hills, New Jersey, and 2) The LA84 Foundation Sports Library in Los Angeles, California.  USGA holds over 6,000 of these items, focusing on North American Clubs; is not on OCLC but does have an online catalog.  LA84 is on OCLC and also has on online catalog. 

 

These items are also heavily collected by private golfiana collectors, and there are lists produced by such collectors (which are likewise collectable and are ridiculously priced, accordingly).  In addition, Donovan & Jerris (2006) have identified many of these titles, and they tag them as ‘Club history”, as do we in the WHATS field within TGIF.

 

These items are also of significance because they bridge interests across turfgrass, golf course design, club & hospitality management, local history, and the game of golf – and are also of popular/public interest, and thus donor relations.  Also, consequently and incidentally, they don’t cluster very well in classification – so they show up in any number of places.  We don’t particularly care about classification issues with these materials.

 

Club histories are normally cataloged for location tf.  

 

CAUTIONS:  Not to be confused, in general,  with Golf Club ‘Handbooks’, often similarly titled and described bibliographically, and which we do not normally buy at all, but do accept on donation; likewise for club annuals, yearbooks, membership materials, or promotional brochures.  Normally any such materials received are filed in TIC Vertical – Yardage Guides (ie. Alphabetic by course).

Also not to be confused with Yardage Guides and Scorecards (which see).

 

Course Histories” are far less common than Club histories, and are also contain more content of relevance for turf.  They focus specifically on the golf course as an asset rather than the club itself.  In the UK (and other locations within the Commonwealth, in particular), since the evolution of ‘public’ courses often proceeds independently of the clubs that may use them (eg. as at St. Andrews), this split perception and reporting is more common.  We do acquire all available Course Histories.

 

Tournament Programs are event-specific, but often annual, volumes produced by a sponsoring organization which usually include content relating to hosting-course design, evolution, history, and current course presentation, circulation, and playability.  Tournament programs are normally accepted on donation only, and are currently Vertical filed within TIC.  At least one is cataloged as a monographic series (the U.S. Open Annuals).  Other random (or particularly valuable; see, for example: http://catalog.lib.msu.edu/record=b9371096)   Tournament Programs have been cat.- sepped.

 

 

Yardage Guides are golf course-specific booklets, usually designed for pocket use, which provide hole-by-hole maps, including features and distances, and, sometimes circulation.  Yardage Guides are normally received by donation only, and are filed alphabetically by course in TIC Vertical – Yardage Guides.   Scorecards are single sheet, often folding, lists of holes listing par and yardage, and sometimes thumbnail hole diagrams, with blanks for scorekeeping.  Scorecards are less useful than Yardage Guides for archival purposes, but can be useful.  Scorecards are filed with Yardage Guides.  Yardage Guides & Scorecards are not cataloged and currently are not processed into TGIF.  We thus have no finding aid of any kind of these materials at present; though we may in fact already have one of the strongest academic library collections of this material type in the world.  While rarely collected by libraries, yardage guides and scorecards are aggressively collected by many golfers.

 

Turf-related and non-MSU Theses and Dissertations, in general, are not purchased for the collection at the present time.  There may be some rare exceptions to this general policy.  We do accept all such donations, however, and perhaps more importantly, actively seek both donations of digital versions of turf-related theses and dissertations, as well as corresponding permission to load and host the digital version of same (whether scanned or born-digital).  See:

 http://tic.lib.msu.edu/copyrightpermissions.html).

 

Given the importance of visual imagery within turf culture, image collections are of significance to almost all user communities, and have been a recognized part of the Noer Collection since the initial donation in the 1960s.  Many years later, the arrival in 2000 of the bulk of the Noer/Milorganite® Division MMSD Image Collection provided a challenging initial focus, given the 27,000 or so images within it, in a variety of formats.  The future of image management within the Collections is uncertain and complex.  Prototyping of digital archives of visual material began with some content presented within the ASGCA Architect’s Gallery (see: http://golfarchitects.lib.msu.edu/) and continues with the still-under-construction but now publicly-launched ‘Noer Slides’ materials website (see: http://noermmsd.lib.msu.edu/about.htm).  Recent donations (eg. Grau, Cockerham, Watson, etc.) have tremendously strengthened our holdings of turfgrass-related images.  Thus, held turf-related original images of all kinds will remain largely an enigma; awaiting time, interest, and/or funding to assist with their further processing.  There are preservation needs associated with some of this material – much of which will presumably eventually be located within Special Collections.

 

 

Levels of Collecting Intensity

 

LC Classification

Subject

Level

Notes

GV 401-433

Sports Facilities

4

Overlaps with Sports

GV 863-985, especially GV 965-975

Sports Facilities, including Golf Courses and Golf Course Design

4

Overlaps with Sports

QK 495

Grasses

3A

Overlaps with Botany

SB 193-199

Grasses

4
 

Overlaps with Agriculture

SB 433

Turfgrasses and Turf Management

5
 

 

SB 435-486

Landscape & Grounds Maintenance

4

Overlaps with Agriculture

SB 608-615

Turf Diseases, Pests, & Weeds

5

Overlaps with Agriculture

 

Key to the Levels:

1. Minimal Level
2. Basic Information Level
3. Study or Instructional Support Level
3a. Study or Instructional Support Level, Introductory
3b. Study or Instructional Support Level, Advanced
4. Research Level
5. Comprehensive Level

 

Collection Management Issues

Specific policies, if any, on a range of circumstances.

 

Multiple copies may be purchased for high demand titles and/or titles authored by MSU faculty; one copy thus normally to location Turfgrass (tf) and the other to Main/Faculty Book Collection.

Electronic versions (i.e. ebooks) will normally not be purchased unless a)  needed for a class, b) an MSU faculty member requests this, or c) it is bundled with the print – in which case the platform should be reliable, functional, and suitable to the content of the work, per Library acquisition and accessibility policies.   External or TGIF availability is not a factor in these decisions.

Replacement copies will be ordered or otherwise acquired for missing or damaged titles, or parts of multi-volume works.

Out-of-print (OOP) materials are often acquired, normally via dealer catalogs, auctions or online availability such as eBay.  OOP collecting activity should be aggressive, including donor solicitation.

Preservation decisions follow the general guidelines established by the Main Library.

Fragile, rare, valuable, or archive materials may be transferred to Special Collections for security/conservation reasons. Transfer to Special Collections of archive-like materials after receipt, inventory, and assessment is a likely outcome for some materials received by TIC, as has been significant parts of  the Scotts Collection, for example (see: http://catalog.lib.msu.edu/record=b4015138)

When unheld or duplicate items are received on donation, they normally will be assigned to location tf, then Main, then Beard if not designated specifically for the Beard Collection, or needing to be in Special Collections or the Digital Media Center, for display purposes, or for future need as a ‘cut-copy’ for digitization purposes.  Excess Noer Collection duplicates are transferred to Surplus for hopeful sale, with proceeds to the TIC Endowment Fund.  Duplicates donated by Dr. Beard or to the Beard Collection will be assigned to location Beard (or Special Collections as Beard Collection items), then tf, then Main.  Excess Beard duplicates are held for possible future transfer to another secondary location, subject to Dr. Beard’s negotiation with that possible location, and our concurrence.

Non-English materials are a particular acquisition challenge, and require both greater and more-systematic efforts to acquire the range of both serial and monographic content.  Greater utilization of approval plans may be of value; given particular attention to fine-tuning the profile.

Fiction and juvenile items will be acquired if within scope, and if the turf element is an actual component of the story itself.

Serial turf materials will not be bound incomplete, and efforts will be made to obtain missing issues in order to enable complete bind runs.  Incomplete runs are held within the vertical files of TIC, if not located in PRR, until such time as the missing issues (or a facsimile thereof) are acquired, or until the title is digitized by MSUL, whichever comes first.

 

Cookingham     5:04/2015

Librarian

Pete Cookingham
Subjects:Turfgrass
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University