Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Spartan DebateTopic 2015: Finding Articles and More

Getting Started

CQ Weekly . Weekly summaries of what are going on in Congress, including debate about space issues. (Oct. 1983 to date)

National Journal . Washington’s premier source of nonpartisan insight on politics and policy for more than four decades

Opposing Viewpoints. Provides articles (pro and con), statistics and news on a variety of social and political issues.  Note that one of the major subject categories is 2015-2016 National Debate Topic.

CQ Researcher. Provides 48 reports a year on current, hot, and controversial topics. Includes a balanced introductions to these issues, a generous selection of cross references to past reports, excellent tables and graphs.  Sample reports include

Multidisciplinary Resources

Don't know where to start? 

SearchPlus pulls together a large number of databases (including the Library Catalog) into a unified search engine, increasing one's chances of finding results by keyword or phrase.  Type in a keyword/s or phrase in the box and review the results.   Whenever possible, links are provided directly to the online source identified.  If you want to limit to only online resources, look on the left and choose full text online.  Sample keywords include (but are not limited to) domestic surveillance, civil liberties, counterterrorism measures, data mining, domestic spying, espionage, homeland security, intelligence gathering, national security, patriot act, privacy, security, terrorism, war on drugs, war on terrorism, wire tapping,

Proquest Research Library. Contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.

Political Science Complete . Contains full text for over 400 journals, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product, such as British Politics, Ethnopolitics and the Journal of Women, Politics & Policy. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.

Homeland Security Digital Library.   Courtesy of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.  Search by keywords such as domestic surveillance.

PolicyFile. Database of research and policy briefs from hundreds of think tanks (mostly U.S. based) that address policy issues, both foreign and domestic

Google Scholar,   Google has created this database to speed location of reports and journal articles available on the Internet. Google is also working hard on facilitating links to subscription resources offered by university libraries. However not all the links work yet. So if you find an interesting article or resources via this database, be sure to check whether it is available via the MSU Libraries electronic or print collections.

Confused?

Confused? 

Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.

Staff Assistance

Staff at the Reference Desk in the first floor lobby of the Main Library will assist you in locating and using print or electronic resources during posted Reference Hours.  Don't hesitate to ask.

Michigan State University