Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Spartan DebateTopic 2015: News Sources

Newspaper Resources

Newspaper resources provide access to collections of online newspapers, as well as selected individual titles within those collections. 

For more information about using newspaper resources, see the Newspaper Guide.

Browse Newspapers: General and Popular by title. 

To search the most comprehensive list of journal and newspaper titles, check out A-Z Electronic Journals

Selected Current Newspaper Packages

Access World News, Research Collection (NewsBank)  This comprehensive news collection (1903 to date)  is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.

LexisNexis Academic : provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Searching tip: If you are only interested in searching through a particular newspaper like the New York Times or Washington Post, (1) look for the box that says by source title and (2) start typing in the name of the paper slowly.  Notice that choices will appear beneath the box which you can click on for the most accurate results. (3) Type in appropriate key words or the date and see what happens.

NewspaperDirect PressDisplay (Proquest) : provides online, same-day access to more than 1000 newspapers from the U.S. and more than 80 other countries. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive. Limit: 5 MSU users at a time.

Proquest Gannett Newsstand : Includes full text of 85 U.S. newspapers, including the Detroit Free Press, Lansing State Journal, etc.

Infotrac Newstand : provides access to selected papers from around the country and the world, courtesy of the MeL.

Factiva : provides electronic access to hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S. and the world, most of them within one day of publication. Retrospective coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 1980s. Special feature : Click on News Pages, then United States, for same day articles from the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post, but not the Chicago Tribune or Los Angeles Times. You can also choose Today's Front Pages to review 873 front pages from 86 countries (similar to NewspaperDirect PressDisplay.  Or click on News Pages, then United States Academic for the same three newspapers, plus the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and San Francisco Chronicle. Or choose on of the many other options including topics such as agriculture/forestry, automobiles, energy, health care, etc. or by location such as European Union, Greater China, Russia, United Kingdom, etc. Note : 6 MSU users at a time.

Breaking News Sites from the Political Science Resources Libguide

Breaking News Resources, including links to publications like the Hill.

Radio and Television News

C-SPAN Video Library . Complete archive of C-SPAN video of White House, Congressional, and Court proceedings.

Democracy Now! is a national, daily, independent, award-winning news program hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez. Pioneering the largest public media collaboration in the U.S., Democracy Now! is broadcast on Pacifica, NPR, community, and college radio stations; on public access, PBS, satellite television (DISH network: Free Speech TV ch. 9415 and Link TV ch. 9410; DIRECTV: Free Speech TV ch. 348 and Link TV ch. 375); and on the internet. DN!’s podcast is one of the most popular on the web.

Meet the Press from Alexander Street Press opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.

Search Engines for Online News

Blinkx Video Search Engine
Michigan State University