Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Spartan DebateTopic 2015: Primary Source Materials

Primary Source Collections Related to Federal Surveillance

Digital National Security Archive collections:

Electronic surveillance and the National Security Agency : from Shamrock to Snowden[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest ; Washington, D.C. : National Security Archive, [2014] A collection of declassified documents. Part of the Digital national security archive (DNSA), which contains documents originally collected and published by the National Security Archive.  "A collection of leaked and declassified records documenting U.S. and allied electronic surveillance policies, relationships, and activities. It serves as an addition to several National Security Archive documents sets — including those on U.S. Intelligence and the National Security Agency. The records provide information on the limitations imposed on electronic surveillance activities, organizations, legal authorities, collection activities, and liaison relationships." Includes documents referring to Edward J. Snowden, the Patriot Act, etc.  Proquest provides a listing of some of the items in this collection, but you will have to click on the top link and search for them.

The U.S. intelligence community after 9/11.  [Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey ; Washington, D.C. : National Security Archive, [200-?]  "The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 on New York and Washington led to profound changes in U.S. foreign and defense policy, internal security practices, and organization for national security - including dramatic changes in the organization and operations of the U.S. Intelligence Community. Other changes have been the product of factors unrelated to the attacks. The U.S. Intelligence Community after 9/11 reflects the National Security Archive's interest in documenting the organizational and operational changes in the U.S. Intelligence Community since the attacks .... Targets of research included all 16 agencies that constitute the U.S. Intelligence Community - the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, the national intelligence agencies (the Central Intelligence Agency, National Security Agency, National Reconnaissance Office, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation), and the intelligence components of Cabinet-level departments (including State, Defense, Homeland Security, Treasury), and the military services. Also included are the organizations (such as the Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence) that supervise and manage the above agencies' activities as well as the means of management (such as departmental directives)"  Proquest provides a listing of some of the items in this collection, but you will have to click on the link above and search for them.

The U.S. intelligence community : organization, operations, and management, 1947-1989[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey ; Washington, D.C. : National Security Archive, [2000?]  Provides a detailed description of the varied civilian and military organizations that constitute the U.S. intelligence community, their past and present operations and the mechanisms by which the community's activities are managed. The collection consists of 870 documents, totaling over 15,000 pages. The documents in this collection derive from a wide variety of sources in the national security bureaucracy. Organizations that provided significant documentation include the Central Intelligence Agency, the National Security Council, the Defense Department, Defense Department intelligence agencies, and the military services and their numerous intelligence units. Also represented are the National Security Agency, the State Department, and several smaller civilian intelligence organizations. The set includes the most recent version of organization and functions manuals and regulations available as well as earlier versions of such documents when the older versions provide useful information concerning the past structure or operations of an organization. All available versions of certain directives (National Security Council Directives, Director of Central Intelligence Directives and United States Signals Intelligence Directives) are included since the evolution in intelligence community organization and operations they portray are of historical importance.  Proquest provides a guide to some of the materials in this collection, but you will have to click on the link above and search for them.

Proquest guides to all DNSA Collections.

List of DNSA Collections owned by the MSU Libraries.

Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s (1956-1971).  An Archives Unbound Collection from Gale Cengage. : Organized alphabetically by organization, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, cultural, and economic issues. It sheds light on internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society. Contents: COINTELPRO: the counterintelligence program of the FBI -- FBI file on Abbie Hoffman -- FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina -- FBI file on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers -- FBI file on the fire bombing and shooting at Kent State University -- FBI files on Malcolm X -- FBI file: MIBURN (Mississippi Burning) -- FBI file on Muslim Mosque, Inc. -- FBI file on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU) -- FBI file on the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization -- FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee -- FBI investigation file on Communist infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Access restricted to the MSU community and MSU Main Library visitors.

Federal Surveillance of African Americans (1920-1984). An Unbound Collection from Gale Cengage.  : Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents....Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The reports provide a wealth of detail on "Negro" radicals and their organizations that can be found nowhere else....In addition to infiltration, the Bureau contributed to the infringement of First Amendment freedoms by making its agents a constant visible presence at radical rallies and meetings. Militant Socialist A. Philip Randolph was followed from city to city and The Messenger's office was vandalized by zealous protectors of the nation's security. A perusal of Bureau case files for this period indicates that black radicalism was one of the major preoccupations and targets of the federal investigatory network.... For more information, download a Product Fact Sheet [pdf, 328 KB]

Michigan State University