AGORES (A Global Overview of Renewable Energy Sources)
Portal for renewable energy. Background on sectors, who's who, policy, publicatons and more.
Alternative Energy Blog
Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicle Data Center
Collects operating information from vehicles (in programs sponsored by the Alternative Motor Fuels Act) running on alternative fuels, analyzes those data, and makes them available to the public. The AFDC also maintains information on research reports conducted for both the Biofuels Systems Division and the Fuel Utilization Data and Analysis Division of the DOE Office of Alternative Fuels.
Ballotpedia's Energy Policy in Michigan
Clean Energy Solutions
Projected dramatic increases in energy consumption in the coming decades, combined with a higher risk of climate change, require a massive global response based on technological innovation and the power of the marketplace. Experts and government officials describe the options before us, including renewable energy, novel vehicles, and low-carbon power generation, and discuss the best ways leading to a sustainable energy future. eJournal USA : Economic Perspectives, Volume 11, Number 2, July 2006.
Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency (DSIRE)
A comprehensive source of information on state, local, utility and selected federal incentives that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency..
Energy is crucial to producing any of the products we use on a daily basis. Making products from recycled materials significantly reduces the amount of energy needed in the process.
EarthTrends: The Environmental Information Portal
A cooperative project of the World Resources Institute, the World Bank, the UN Environment Programme, the UN Development Programme and others that provides a wide array of environmental data and information. The material is grouped into broad topics: coastal and marine ecosystems; water resources and freshwater ecosystems; climate and atmosphere; population, health and human well-being; economics, business and the environment; energy and resources; biodiversity and protected areas; agriculture and food; forests and grasslands; and environmental institutions and governance. After selecting a broad topic, the user has access to databases, datatables, country profiles, maps, and feature articles. The databases provide extensive data for onscreen viewing or download. Years of coverage vary. The data tables provide comparative data for countries of the world. The country profiles provide data, tables, and a brief narrative for individual countries.
Electricity Basics 101 (DOE)
Electricity is a form of energy characterized by the presence and motion of elementary charged particles generated by friction, induction, or chemical change. Electricity is a secondary energy source which means that we get it from the conversion of other sources of energy, like coal, natural gas, oil, nuclear power and other natural sources, which are called primary sources. The energy sources we use to make electricity can be renewable or non-renewable, but electricity itself is neither renewable or non-renewable.
Energy and Fuels Special Report
A compilation of resources by the NewScientist.
Energy Debate Watch
A compilation of news articles about the ongoing energy debate from Terra Rossa.
Energy Information Agency (EIA) State Energy Profiles
Includes current and historic data on primary energy consumption, petroleum consumption, consumption by sector, residential use, commercial use, industrial use, transportation use, electric utility use, prices, expenditures, and state rankings of consumption, prices, and expenditures. Each selection presents the user with summary level information. More detailed information is available from pull-down menus.
Energy Information Agency (EIA) Country Analysis Briefs
Provides country analysis briefs on energy issues for selected countries and with environmental information for selected countries. These reports from the United States Energy Information Administration examine the energy situation in OPEC (Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries) on-OPEC countries in the politically volatile Persian Gulf region, major non-OPEC oil exporters, and other countries or regions . The publications concentrate on energy outlook and supply but also include overview of each country, recent energy related-activities, summary environmental information including significant environmental problems by country.
Environment Science and Technology Online
ETDEWEB -- Leading the Way to Worldwide Energy Technology Discoveries
Welcome to ETDE World Energy Base (ETDEWEB) where you can search and explore the growing collection of over 3,979,000 bibliographic records and more than 206,000 full text documents! Access to additional full text documents is provided with more than 715,000 DOI links and many other availability links. Full-text or DOI access is predominately available for most new information and is increasingly available for historic information as well. ETDEWEB is a product of the Energy Technology Data Exchange (ETDE), a programme of the International Energy Agency (IEA).
ETDEWEB includes information on energy R&D; energy policy and planning; basic sciences (e.g., physics, chemistry and biomedical) and materials research; the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy conservation; nuclear (e.g., reactors, isotopes, waste management); coal and fossil fuels; renewable energy technologies (e.g., solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydro) and much, much more. ETDEWEB includes information from ETDE's Energy Database and information from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations Database. In addition to information from member countries, ETDEWEB contains worldwide information in the nuclear, coal, and global climate change areas.
Green Power Network: Buying Green Power in Your State
The U.S. Department of Energy's Green Power Network provides news and information on green power markets and related activities. This site provides state-by-state information on Green Power Marketing in Competitive Electricity Markets and Utility Green Pricing Programs.
Green Power Renewable Energy Technology Basics
Green power is electricity that is generated from resources such as solar, wind, geothermal, biomass, and low-impact hydro facilities. Conventional electricity generation, based on the combustion of fossil fuels, is the nation's single largest industrial source of air pollution. The increasing availability of green power enables electricity customers to accelerate installation of renewable energy technologies. As more green power sources are developed - displacing conventional generation - the overall environmental impacts associated with electricity generation will be significantly reduced.
Michigan Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency
National Library for the Environment
Congressional Research Service Reports on Energy
Type in energy in the box and see what comes up.
Net Energy: Concepts, Issues, and Case Studies (collection)
A compilation of articles from the Encyclopedia of Earth.
The power scorecard assesses the environmental impact of different types of electricity generation. It was developed with the technical support of the Pace Law School Energy Project to help citizens rate electricity sources by entering state and energy preferences.
Putting the Pieces Together: How Do Citizens and Experts See the Energy Issue?
The new research uncovers a serious barrier to advancing national dialogue on energy issues: the profound mismatch in how leaders and the public define the problem and think about solutions. The research is based on a series of focus groups across the country and interviews with experts on an array of energy issues. For example, citizens primarily think about their own personal habits and consumption when the topic of “conservation” arises and assume that conserving means they will end up sacrificing comfort and convenience to reduce energy use. Meanwhile many experts say the nation could vastly increase energy efficiency through changes that would be nearly imperceptible to the average person. Many experts see this as a potential breakthrough, but one that is currently stalled. Many citizens had a “strongly felt perception that ‘movers and shakers’ are either actively making matters worse or are simply abdicating responsibility and leaving problems to fester,” the report says. Energy experts had a more nuanced, although not entirely contradictory view. “Most experts saw the forces behind the energy leadership vacuum as a combination of the prevailing culture of partisanship and the corrupting influence Will Friedman, McKenna Morrigan and Alison Kadlec. A report for the Kettering Foundation by Public Agenda.
REN 21 : Renewable Energy Policy for the 21st Century
REN21 is a global policy network that provides a forum for international leadership on renewable energy. Its goal is to bolster policy development for the rapid expansion of renewable energies in developing and industrialised economies. Open to a wide variety of dedicated stakeholders, REN21 connects governments, international institutions, non-governmental organisations, industry associations, and other partnerships and initiatives. Linking the energy, development and environment sectors, REN21 strengthens the influence of the unique renewable energy community that came together at the “renewables 2004” conference in Bonn. REN21 is the network in which ideas are shared and action is encouraged to promote renewable energy worldwide.
Renewable & Alternative Energy Basics 101 (DOE)
Renewable energy resources are naturally replenished in a relatively short period of time. They include biomass, hydropower, geothermal energy, wind energy, and solar energy. In 2005, about 6% of all energy consumed, and about 9% of total electricity production was from renewable energy sources. Alternative transportation fuels are fuels used for transportation other than gasoline or diesel. Some alternative transportation fuels, such as ethanol and biodiesel, are renewable while others, such as propane and natural gas, are non-renewable.
Renewable and Alternative Fuel Data, Reports, Analysis, Surveys
Official energy statistics from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Renewable Energy Access (RenewableEnergyWorld.com)
An Internet source for information on renewable energy.
Renewable Energy Consumption and Electricity Preliminary 2007 Statistics
EIA recently released a preliminary report showing renewable energy provided 7 percent of the total U.S. energy consumption in 2007. Total renewable energy market consumption was comprised of biomass, hydroelectricity, geothermal, wind and solar. Energy Information Administration.
Renewable Energy Policy Project
REPP's goal is to accelerate the use of renewable energy by providing credible information, insightful policy analysis, and innovative strategies amid changing energy markets and mounting environmental needs by researching, publishing, and disseminating information, creating policy tools, and hosting highly active, on-line, renewable energy discussion groups. Main subjects include policy, hydro, solar, bioenergy, geothermal, wind, hydrogen.
Renewables Global Status Report 2006 Update
Renewables Global Status Report 2007
Prepared by the Renewable Energy Network for the 21st Century (REN21) in collaboration with the Worldwatch Institute, the Renewables 2007 Global Status Report paints an encouraging picture of rapidly expanding renewable energy markets, policies, industries, and rural applications around the world. In 2007, global wind generating capacity is estimated to have increased 28 percent, while grid-connected solar photovoltaic (PV) capacity rose 52 percent. "So much has happened in the renewable energy sector during the past five years that the perceptions of some politicians and energy-sector analysts lag far behind the reality of where the renewables industry is today," says Mohamed El-Ashry, Chair of REN21.
Source for Renewable Energy
The Source for Renewable Energy is a comprehensive online buyer's guide and business directory to more than 12,000 renewable energy businesses and organizations worldwide.
Statistical Review of World Energy 2007
The BP Statistical Review of World Energy 2007 tells the story of the world's current and historical energy trends. This edition includes data up to the end of 2006.
Union of Concerned Scientists : Clean Energy Page
UN Energy Statistics Database
UNEP works to address environmental consequences of energy production and use, and assists decision-makers in governments and the private sector to make better, more informed energy choices which fully integrate environmental and social costs.
This website provides information on key activities at the global and regional levels, including UNEP Energy Branch, UNEP Risoe Centre, Sustainable Energy Finance Initiative, UNEP Offshore Oil and Gas Environment Forum, Basel Agency for Sustainable Energy (BASE) and OzonAction Branch. Information is also provided on energy-related policies and strategies.
U.S. Department of Energy : Energy Resources Page
Provides links to : Bioenergy, Coal, Electric Power, Fossil Fuels, Fusion, Geothermal, Hydrogen, Hydropower, Natural Gas, Nuclear, Oil, Renewables, Solar, Wind.
Wikipedia's Renewable Energy Entry
WorldWatch Energy and Climate Change Library : Renewable Energy
Attached is a list of organizations that track and influence Alternative and Renewable Energy. They are also listed under the Think Tank and Government tabs.
Association of Businesses Advocating Tariff Equity (ABATE)
ABATE is a trade association for large industrial customers that have high energy costs. ABATE was formed more than 20 years ago to represent the industrial viewpoint before Michigan and federal regulators and to lobby the Michigan legislature and Congress on energy related matters. ABATE’s goals are to have regulated rates for energy commodities equal to the providing utility’s cost of service, and to promote competitive markets for energy where no single seller or group of sellers can control market prices.
American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy (ACEEE)
A nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to advancing energy efficiency as a means of promoting both economic prosperity and environmental protection. ACEEE fulfills its mission by :
(1) Conducting in-depth technical and policy assessments
(2) Advising policymakers and program managers
(3) Working collaboratively with businesses, public interest groups, and other organizations
(4) Organizing conferences and workshops
(5) Publishing books, conference proceedings, and reports
(6) Educating consumers and businesses
Also check out the ACCEE's Newsletter (Grapevine Online)
American Council on Renewable Energy
Nongovernmental group that promotes renewable energy options for the production of electricity, hydrogen, and fuels, as well as for end uses.
Consumers Energy Council of America
The Consumer Energy Council of America, a non-profit §501(c)(3) organization based in Washington, DC, is dedicated to promoting public policy positions that advance the best interest of consumers of essential energy services.
Electric Power Supply Association
EPSA has a powerful presence on Capitol Hill, serving as a forceful advocate for the competitive power supply industry before Congress. The Association regularly testifies before Congress, briefs Members of Congress on key electricity matters affecting their constituents, provides industry leaders the opportunity to meet face to face with key Congressional leaders and delegations, and serves as a resource for senior staff professionals handling complex energy legislative issues. All of these activities keep the industry’s voice on critical legislative issues front and center on Capitol Hill.
Electricity Consumers Resource Council
The electricity industry is being transformed. Competition is replacing monopolies. New players are emerging. New opportunities are arising for providers and consumers of energy products and services. ELCON has been a leading advocate of competitive change since 1976 -- articulating and promoting policies that increasingly make it possible for buyers and sellers of electricity to negotiate for reliable, affordable supplies in an open market.
Energy Futures Council
A broad-based, nonpartisan alliance that seeks to bridge the differences among business, labor, and environmental groups and identify energy policy options with broad political support. The coalition aims to bring about changes in U.S. energy policy to address the economic, security and environmental challenges related to the production and use of fossil fuels with a compelling new vision of the economic opportunities that will be created by the transition to a new energy economy.
International Atomic Energy Agency
The IAEA is the world´s center of cooperation in the nuclear field. It was set up as the world´s "Atoms for Peace" organization in 1957 within the United Nations family. The Agency works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote safe, secure and peaceful nuclear technologies.
International Energy Agency
The IEA acts as energy policy advisor to 27 member countries in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens. Founded during the oil crisis of 1973-74, the IEA’s initial role was to co-ordinate measures in times of oil supply emergencies. As energy markets have changed, so has the IEA. Its mandate has broadened to incorporate the “Three E’s” of balanced energy policy making: energy security, economic development and environmental protection. Current work focuses on climate change policies, market reform, energy technology collaboration and outreach to the rest of the world, especially major consumers and producers of energy like China, India, Russia and the OPEC countries. With a staff of around 190, mainly energy experts and statisticians from its 27 member countries, the IEA conducts a broad programme of energy research, data compilation, publications and public dissemination of the latest energy policy analysis and recommendations on good practices.
International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)
Mandated by governments worldwide, IRENA aims at becoming the main driving force in promoting a rapid transition towards the widespread and sustainable use of renewable energy on a global scale. Acting as the global voice for renewable energies, IRENA will provide practical advice and support for both industrialised and developing countries, help them improve their regulatory frameworks and build capacity.
Michigan Renewables Energy Program
The Michigan Renewables Energy Program (MREP) was established by the legislature, and implemented by the Public Service Commission, to promote the use of renewable energy in the state. A diverse group of individuals and organizations with knowledge and experience in energy production, technology, education, and policy development have been assembled to identify and address barriers to the advancement of renewables and recommend initiatives to increase renewable use in Michigan.
Michigan Renewable Fuels Commission
In 2006, Michigan's leaders decided the state needed to make a focused effort to encourage the production and use of biodiesel and ethanol products in Michigan, increase the viability of Michigan's agriculture industry, and reduce the nation's dependence on foreign oil. In 2006, Michigan Governor Jennifer Granholm established the Michigan Renewable Fuels Commission to lead the charge towards renewable fuel development in Michigan. In July of 2007, the RFC issued a report of their reccommendations for the Governor and the legislature. You can find this report here on our new site, along with many other important resources. The RFC is continuing their research and recommendation of policies that will help Michigan become a leader in sustainable fuel development.
National Hydropower Association
Founded in 1983, the NHA is the only trade association in the United States dedicated exclusively to advancing the interests of hydropower energy in North America. Located in Washington, D.C., NHA is a member-driven association that accomplishes its policy work and outreach through the initiatives of its standing committees.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Learn about NREL's research and development of renewable fuels and electricity that advance national energy goals to change the way we power our homes, businesses, and cars.
Learn about Renewable Energy Basics
Organization of the Petroleum Export Countries
OPEC's mission is to coordinate and unify the petroleum policies of Member Countries and ensure the stabilization of oil markets in order to secure an efficient, economic and regular supply of petroleum to consumers, a steady income to producers and a fair return on capital to those investing in the petroleum industry.
Sustainable Energy Coalition
Brings together more than 60 national and state-level business, environmental,consumer, and energy policy organizations. Founded in 1992, the Coalition promotes increased federal support for Energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies and reduced federal support for unsafe or polluting energy resources.
U.S. Congress. House. Committee on Energy and Commerce
Jurisdiction over legislation on electric utilities regulation, energy plant siting (including nuclear facilities), and proposals to label appliances to indicate energy consumption.
U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
Jurisdiction over legislation on electric energy research and development.
U.S. Department of Energy
Energy Information Administration
Prepares analyses and forecasts on electric power supplies, including the effects of government policies and regulatory actions on capacity, consumption, finances, and rates. Publishes statistics on electric power industry.
World Alliance for Decentralized Energy
Nongovernmental organization that promotes worldwide deployment of on-site renewable energy, cogeneration, and energy recycling systems.
World Energy Council (WEC) : The World Energy Council is the leading global energy organization. Its mission is to promote the sustainable use and supply of all types of energy throughout the world. The site offers statistical data on energy resources and trends by country or region.