USFS Resources - Forest Carbon Program - A Resource Guide - LibGuides at Michigan State University Libraries

US Forest Service

U. S. Forest Service
Forest Insects and Disease Leaflets, USFS
This is a numeric list to the U. S. Forest Service Forest Insects and Disease leaflets. The site links to those that are available online in PDF format. There is also a link to an alphabetized list, and the Eastern and the Western regional titles.
FIA Forest Carbon Science and Reporting
This page provides an overview of forest carbon science and reporting in the FIA program along with links to research and reports.
Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program
The Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program of the U.S. Forest Service provides the information needed to assess America's forests. FIA reports on status and trends in forest area and location; in the species, size, and health of trees; in total tree growth, mortality, and removals by harvest; in wood production and utilization rates by various products; and in forest land ownership
TreeSearch
Search the Forest Service R&D publications catalog by author, title, publication year or keywords – or for those that are published in the Forest Service research series, by the station, series and number. Each publication comes with an abstract, citation information, and a link to download the full text document.
i-Tree
i-Tree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. The i-Tree Tools help communities of all sizes to strengthen their urban forest management and advocacy efforts by quantifying the structure of community trees and the environmental services that trees provide. With a free registration, i-Tree Tools are in the public domain and are freely accessible.
more...less...
Uitlities include:
i-Tree Eco provides a broad picture of the entire urban forest.
i-Tree Streets focuses on the benefits provided by a municipality's street trees.
i-Tree Species is a free-standing utility designed to help urban foresters select the most appropriate tree species based on environmental function and geographic area.
i-Tree Storm provides a method for a community to assess widespread storm damage in a simple, credible, and efficient manner immediately after a severe storm.
i-Tree Vue (Beta) allows you to make use of freely available national land cover data maps to assess your community's land cover, including tree canopy, and some of the ecosystem services provided by your current urban forest.
Forest Inventory and Analysis - new, 2023

Documents of Note

Many of the resources of the US Department of Agriculture touch on subjects relevant for forestry. See my Agriculture Research Guide to learn about publications and statistics of the USDA.

-- -- --

Natural Resources Conservation Service, National Forestry Handbook, title 190. February 2004.
The National Forestry Handbook (NFH) contains methodology, procedures, and related reference materials that assist NRCS personnel to implement the policies contained in the National Forestry Manual (NFM) relative to forestry and agroforestry technologies. Note: pdf is 216 pages

Natural Resources Conservation Service, National Forestry Manual, September 1998.
The National Forestry Manual (NFM) describes forestry policy within the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and complements the General Manual. Note: pdf is 200 pages

Natural Resources Conservation Service - Forestry Resources

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Forest Carbon Program - A Resource Guide: USFS Resources

US Forest Service

Documents of Note