LibGuides: PhD Resources: Database Searching/Finding Articles

Databases

Here's a list of databases that will be described and demoed during the Intensives weeks and that you'll search in throughout your programs.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1937 -
CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It provides indexing for over 3,000 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. Additional items indexed include nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons are also included.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
1966-
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

Note: Beginning June 1, 2021, users of NCBI services will need to login with their MSU Net ID instead of a NCBI-generated account. The NLM has more information about this change and how to link your existing NCBI account with your MSU Net ID. A Microsoft Word document containing step by step instructions is avaialble for download.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Key resource for evidence based practice and finding systematic reviews. The included databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, Cochrane Review Methodology Database, and the Cochrane Collaboration.
PsycINFO including PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.
EMBASE (including EMBASE Classic) This link opens in a new window
A large European-based database with journal articles and other biomedical literature from an international perspective. Contains the entire Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) supplemented with MEDLINE records dating back to before 1966. Particularly strong in pharmaceutical research.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
1983-
Provides citations for every article of at least one column in length taken from more than 500 English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Covers every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college. Includes book review citations. MSU Libraries have a related print publication: Education Index located in the Main Library at Z5813 .E23 and covering 1929-1982.
ERIC (on ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A U.S. national bibliographic database covering the journal and research literature in the field of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC blends two files: Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals and Resources in Education (RIE), covering other research document literature, such as conference papers, books, theses, and research reports.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center™ (NRC) is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.