Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Biosystems & Agricultural Engineering: Citation Programs

This guide provides key resources for researching biosystems and agricultural engineering topics, including bioenergy, food safety and quality sensors, water quality, sustainable ecosystems, resource conservation, and biosensors.

Citation Management Systems

Why would you want to invest time and effort into a citation management system?

Citation management systems allow you to collect and organize your references and to create bibliographies. You can either type in or capture references from our Electronic Resources.  As documents are added to a citation manager library, the program attempts to detect the bibliographic data (meta-data) of the document.  Users can then add any information that is incomplete or missing.

With some of the managers users can manage and organize their references using tags and groups, create and share annotations on the pdfs, plus create a bibliography in any citation style they (or their professors) want.

You can create bibliographies within Microsoft Word or other word-processors. The managers allow you to format bibliographies in almost every conceivable bibliographic citation style, such as APA, Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, Turabian, Science and other journal-specific bibliographic citation styles.

Citation Management

Citation Manager Comparison Chart - Compares the features and costs of EndNote, EndNote Web, Zotero and Mendeley

EndNote & EndNote Web

Free Training at the MSU Libraries 

Zotero Guide.

Free Training at MSU Libraries

Mendeley Guide. (I teach Mendeley classes. Let me know if you want to set up a group or private instruction session.)

Free Training at MSU Libraries

Subject Guide

Suzanne Teghtmeyer's picture
Suzanne Teghtmeyer
Main Library
366 W. Circle Dr.
East Lansing, MI 48824

Orcid ID
Michigan State University