Skip to main content
Michigan State University

RCAH 292B - Jackson - Fall 2015: Hip hop culture & education

Intro

Hip hop materials are spread throughout the library departments, so this topic was not well covered on November 11 when we focused only on Special Collections.

Websites about Hip Hop Education

#HipHopEd

  • "An approach to education and youth development that is rooted in identifying and building upon the intellectual abilities exemplified within Hip-Hop music and pedagogy."

Hip Hop Education

  • A nonprofit organization "dedicated to developing the leadership voice of the next generation."

Hip Hop Education Center: A 21st Century Communiversity

  • "A centralized online social network, learning and information exchange, and archival management system... Our mission is to be a catalyst for the hip-hop and education field."

Hip Hop Education Project

  • Based in Oakland, California. "We're here for justice for Black and Latino kids... Using critical hip hop pedagogy and project based learning to ensure all students achieve academically, socially and become dynamic problem solvers."

Hip Hop, Popular Music, and Education

  • A useful resource list from Ithaca College.

Online hip hop archives

Cornell University has an outstanding Hip Hop collection. Two sections are online:

The NOLA Hip Hop and Bounce Archive is at the Amistad Research Center at Tulane University. They have video interviews with leading hip hop and bounce artists.

The Hip Hop Archive at Harvard is mostly not online, but they do provide a great bibliography of books and articles on hip hop.

University of Houston Libraries, Houston Hip Hop Archive. Open the menu under Digital Library Collections.

Michigan State University