Effects of Climate Change on Aquatic Invasive Species and Implications for Management and Research
This ELI-authored EPA report considers the interactions of climate change and aquatic invasive species (AIS). It analyzes the existing scientific literature on the effects climate change will have on AIS and considers provisions for adaptation to changing conditions in existing state AIS management plans. Based on this analysis, ELI offers five recommendations for states to maintain and improve state AIS management programs and activities in a changing climate.
Emerald Ash Borer
This Web site is part of a multistate effort in Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin (uninfested) to bring you the latest information about emerald ash borer.
Michigan State University, Department of Entomology.
Gypsy Moth Slow the spread Foundation
GMSTS.ORG is the Internet home of the Gypsy Moth Slow the Spread Foundation, Inc. This nonprofit organization was established for the purpose of aiding in the implementation of the U.S.D.A. National Slow the Spread of the Gypsy Moth Project. The National Slow the Spread Project is part of the U.S.D.A.'s national strategy for gypsy moth management.
Invasipedia houses information on invasive plants, animals, and pathogens, and especially how to best manage them. Its foundation is the large amount of species management information developed by the The Nature Conservancy's Global Invasive Species Team. It is now supported by the Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health as part of the BugwoodWiki. Its continued growth depends upon your contributions!
Invasive.org : The Source for Information and Images of Invasive & Exotic Species
Invasive or Exotic Species ; any species, including its seeds, eggs, spores, or other biological material capable of propagating that species, that is not native to that ecosystem; and whose introduction does or is likely to cause economic or environmental harm or harm to human health. A compilation of web links and resources. A joint project of The University of Georgia's Bugwood Network, USDA Forest Service and USDA APHIS PPQ.
Invasive Plants of the Eastern United States : Identification and Control
A biological invasion of non-native plants is spreading into our nations' fields, pastures, forests, wetlands and waterways, natural areas, and right-of-ways. Variously referred to as exotic, nonnative, alien, noxious, or non-indigenous weeds, invasive plants impact native plant and animal communities by displacing native vegetation and disrupting habitats as they become established and spread over time.
Drawing on recent publications by the USDA Forest Service, National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, USDA APHIS PPQ and the Southeast Exotic Pest Plant Council, this web site covers identification characteristics, distribution, and control options for 97 tree, shrub, vine, grass, fern, forb, and aquatic plant species that are invading the eastern United States. For each species, a menu of control options is presented, including mechanical treatments, specific herbicide prescriptions, and, for selected species, recent advances in biological control.
Invasive Species in the Great Lakes Basin
Invasive Species Scientific Journal Articles
Exotic species have threatened the Great Lakes ever since Europeans settled in the region. Since the 1800s, more than 140 exotic aquatic organisms of all types - including plants, fish, algae and mollusks - have become established in the Great Lakes. As human activity has increased in the Great Lakes watershed, the rate of introduction of exotic species has increased. More than one-third of the organisms have been introduced in the past 30 years, a surge coinciding with the opening of the St. Lawrence Seaway. Web page provided by the Great Lakes Information Network (GLIN)
Invasive Species Webblog
Courtesy of Jennifer Forman Orth, Ph.D.
Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Aquatic Invasive Species
Nonindigenous species, also commonly referred to as nuisance, non-native, exotic, invasive and alien species, are species that did not originate in the Great Lakes ecosystem and have been introduced either intentionally or accidentally. Over 160 species have been introduced into the Great Lakes basin since the 1800s.
Michigan Invasive Plant Council
Michigan Sea Grant
Aquatic Invasive Species
Aquatic invasive species (AIS) are plants, animals and microscopic organisms that have caused serious problems in aquatic ecosystems outside of their native range. These species threaten the biodiversity and function of the Great Lakes ecosystem. Michigan Sea Grant supports research, outreach and education to prevent new introductions of AIS into the Great Lakes and control the spread of established AIS populations.
Provides information about fishes such as asia carp, eurasian ruffle, round goby, and sea lamprey.
Provides information about fish diseases such as Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia (VHS)
Provides information about mollusks such as zebra mussels and quagga mussels.
Provides information about plants such as Common Reed, Eurasian Watermilfoil, Frogbit, Hydrilla, and Purple loosestrife.
Provides inforamtion about zooplankton such as Fish-hook Waterflea, Spiny Waterflea, and Bloody Red Shrimp.
Multi-Colored Asian Lady Beetle
The multi-colored Asian lady beetle is a native of Asia, and like many exotic species, has readily adapted to climates and habitats in the U.S. As with most lady beetles, it is a highly beneficial predator of insect pests, especially aphids. Asian lady beetles can create trouble when large numbers enter buildings or feed on late season fruit crops. Since lady beetles are a significant natural defense against aphids and other pests, it is important to correctly identify the Asian lady beetle and use restraint with pesticides or other management tactics. This web site contains information to help you distinguish the Asian lady beetle from other lady beetles and give advice for management in homes and fruit crops.
National Invasive Species Information Center (NiSIC)
The National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) was established in 2005 at the National Agricultural Library to meet the information needs of users including the National Invasive Species Council (Council). NISIC creates and manages the www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov Web site. The Web site serves as a reference gateway to information, organizations, and services about invasive species. The Center grew out of NAL's leadership in the development of the Invasivespecies.gov Web site for the Council. In June 2000, Invasivespecies.gov was launched as a joint collaboration between NAL, the U.S. Geological Survey, National Biological Information Infrastructure, and the Council. The site began with less than 200 links to external resources. By June 2005 the Web site had more than 12,000 unique links. A major redesign was needed to enhance access to this growing wealth of resources. A new Web site, www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov, managed by NISIC was launched in 2005 built largely on the general content from the original www.invasivespecies.gov Web site. Today, www.invasivespecies.gov serves and is managed by the Council to meet the administrative, communication, and facilitation needs specifically related to the business and activity of the Council.
Union of Concerned Scientists
Offers a broad introduction to the issue of invasive species, including information on the National Invasive Species Act, the UCS's "Sound Science Initiative," and methods that citizens can take for preventing the introduction and spread of invasives.
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Plants Database : Invasive and Noxious Weeds
Includes a list of federal noxious weeds, state noxious weed reports, and general lists of invasive and an introduced plant in the United States. Includes links to additional, plant-specific information.