Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Queen Victoria Exhibit Bibliography: Web Sites

This is a bibliography of works by and about Queen Victoria to accompany an exhibit in Main Library on her as a writer and artist.

Web Sites

Balmoral Castle

In Scotland, a home built by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, still owned by the English Royal Family.

British Monarchy Office Website

Loyal Addresses Exhibit at the National Archives

The beautiful, rarely-seen congratulatory addresses in the Privy Purse series (PP 1) were presented to Queen Victoria to celebrate her Golden Jubilee in 1887 and Diamond Jubilee in 1897. The senders were many and varied, but comprise principally institutions of local government; schools and colleges; social, cultural, educational and religious societies; military and medical establishments; and those of trades associations and manufacturing companies.

Osborne House

On the Isle of Wight, off the coast of southern England, now a museum.  Once a home of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert's.

Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee Scrapbook

The site is provided by the Royal Household to provide a resource of information, learning materials, documents and other media about the life of Queen Victoria and, in particular, her Diamond Jubilee, which was in 1897, to celebrate her 60 years on the throne.

Queen Victoria's Journals Online

Contains full texts of Queen Victoria's journals, four versions of them, some in her own handwriting, along with typed transcriptions. Search the transcriptions by keyword, date, personal name, place name. Covers 1832-1901. She wrote nearly every day, about her household and family matters, politics and society, foreign affairs, places she visited and people she encountered. Timeline, secondary essays by scholars, dictionary entries for people and places, links to websites of interest.  Her journals were tragically edited down by her youngest daughter and literary executor, Beatrice, Lord Esher, chair of the government committee charged with memorializing her, her son, King Edward VII, and Arthur Christopher Benson, who worked for Lord Esher.   Many personal details were edited out of her works, either to present a spotless image of the Royal family, or because people in the early 20th century didn't value details about family life as primary sources for scholarship the way we do today.

Royal Archives

Established at Windsor Castle in 1912 to organize and maintain the written records of the English Royal Family, beginning with Queen Victoria's and Prince Albert's own papers. 

Royal Collection

The Royal Collection is one of the largest and most important art collections in the world, and one of the last great European royal collections to remain intact. Comprising almost all aspects of the fine and decorative arts and running to more than a million objects, the Collection is a unique and valuable record of the personal tastes of British kings and queens over the past 500 years. It is held in trust by Queen Elizabeth II for her successors and the nation. It is not owned by her as a private individual.  Works of art may be viewed on this website.  Sometimes works are lent to other museums for display.  Works can also be viewed in situ in the many properties owned by the Royal Family, such as Osborne House.

Victoria Revealed

An online version of a Royal Palaces exhibition exploring Queen Victoria’s  childhood at home in Kensington Palace, London.

 

Michigan State University