Skip to main content
Michigan State University

RCAH 380, Spring 2016, Dr Lynn Scott. Mid-20th Century African American Literature: Primary Sources Online

Find Primary Sources among the Library's Online Resources

SearchPlus does not have a good way to limit your results only to primary sources. However, the library's database list does identify online collections we have purchased access to which are composed of the most common types of primary sources: diaries, letters, legal documents, photographs, first-hand accounts, etc.

Go to the Electronic Resources section of the library website: er.lib.msu.edu. (This section identifies all the individual databases we subscribe to - all types including primary sources. Most, but not all, are being searched collectively when you use SearchPlus.)

On the left, click on the Primary Sources tab. On the right is a short list of the most frequently used online collections of primary sources. Or go to the entire giant list at the bottom.

Primary Source Collections of Interest

African American Community. Resources on Black urban life.

Archives Unbound Collections. Subcollections include material from:

• the National Negro Congress

• the Black Liberation Army

• the Revolutionary Action Movement

• Fannie Lou Hamer

• U.S. government response to 1960s radicalism

• U.S. government surveillance of African Americans

• FBI files on Benjamin J. Davis Jr.

• African liberation movement

• papers of Amiri Baraka

• 1961 Freedom Riders

Black Drama: 1850 to the Present

Black Thought and Culture

ProQuest History Vault. Subcollections include material from:

• Claude Barnett papers

• Robert F. Williams papers

• Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee

• Southern Christian Leadership Council

• NAACP

• Congress of Racial Equality

• Mississippi Freedom Summer participants

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice: 1490-2007

Twentieth Century African American Poetry

Michigan State University