Skip to main content
- ICPSR Data Archive
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. World's largest archive of social science data. Election data, opinion polls, & more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse, Raw data; no tables.
- Harvard Dataverse
Access the world's largest collection of social science research data here by searching across of browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses").
Registry of Research Data Repositories
- DataFinder from the Population Reference Bureau
A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world
- Data Citation Index
Indexes research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation. It's part of Web of Science.
- The MacroData Guide
The MacroData Guide is a tool that has been especially developed by the Norwegian Social Science Data Services to save researchers and students time and energy in their search for high quality social science macro data.
Frequently Used Datasets
- Current Population Survey
A monthly survey of approximately 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The survey has been conducted for more than 50 years.
- General Social Survey
General Social Survey (GSS) is a long running survey of social, cultural and political indicators. In addition to the GSS, topic modules include computer and Internet, racial and ethnic prejudice, and child mental-health stigma.
- Survey of Consumer Finances
Conducted every three years (2013 is the most recent), this survey collects information on the assets, liabilities and other financial characteristics of households. It is the only U.S. survey that contains an oversample of wealthy households.
- World Values Survey
The series is designed to enable a cross national comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. A variety of questions on religion and morality were included.
- US Government Data by agency
Almost all agencies of the United States Government provide access to related data at their agency websites. Search Google for the agency and search the website by using the terms 'data' or 'statistics', for example: Department of Justice to find crime statistics or Bureau of Labor Statistics to find employment and related data.