A. Chronology of the Subject
The collection emphasis is on current research and trends, but materials that focus on historical topics are also considered.
B. Languages of Resources Collected
The collection comprises primarily English language materials, but materials in non-English languages are also considered.
C. Geography of the Subject
The collection is global in nature, to reflect the international nature of research in Community Sustainability. Resources focusing on Michigan and the Great Lakes region are also especially relevant.
D. Format of Resources Collected
All appropriate formats, including print, electronic, and physical and streaming media, are considered. Print and electronic materials are the primary formats of the collection. Due to the high demand for convenient access to information, electronic materials are given priority whenever possible.
E. Data
Adding research data is a potential step for this subject collection. For local guidelines see:
For possible depositories consult:
F. Date of Publications Collected
The collection emphasis is on current publications.
Environmental Science and Sustainability are areas of study that are relevant to people from all walks of life and across the globe. Community Sustainability research at MSU often has an international focus and the collection should reflect that reality, with an emphasis when possible on publications by authors living in the areas they are publishing about. Furthermore, issues of environmental and climate justice are important areas of study and are included in the collection.