Skip to main content
Michigan State University

RCAH 292B, Spring 2016, Dr Austin Jackson. Educational Interventions for Adolescent At-Risk Black Males: Primary sources online

Primary vs. Secondary

What's the difference between primary and secondary sources?

  • Primary sources give first-hand evidence of an event, a person's life, or a period of history.
  • Secondary sources give an author's interpretation of what the first-hand evidence means.

For more on this, see this 4-minute video, Understanding Primary Sources. (It's the second video on the list. You can skip the first video by just clicking on the title Understanding Primary Sources below the video window.)

Find more primary sources among the library's online databases

SearchPlus does not have a good way to limit your results only to primary sources. However, the library's database list does identify online collections we have purchased access to which are composed of the most common types of primary sources: diaries, letters, legal documents, photographs, first-hand accounts, etc.

Go to the Electronic Resources section of the library website: er.lib.msu.edu. (This section identifies all the individual databases we subscribe to - all types including primary sources. Most, but not all, are being searched collectively when you use SearchPlus.)

On the left, click on the Primary Sources tab. On the right is a short list of the most frequently used online collections of primary sources. Or go to the entire giant list at the bottom.

Online resources on hip hop

Online hip hop archives

Cornell University has an outstanding Hip Hop collection. Two sections are online:

The NOLA Hip Hop and Bounce Archive is at the Amistad Research Center at Tulane University. They have video interviews with leading hip hop and bounce artists.

The Hip Hop Archive at Harvard is mostly not online, but they do provide a great bibliography of books and articles on hip hop.

University of Houston Libraries, Houston Hip Hop Archive. Open the menu under Digital Library Collections.

Websites about Hip Hop Education

#HipHopEd

  • "An approach to education and youth development that is rooted in identifying and building upon the intellectual abilities exemplified within Hip-Hop music and pedagogy."

Hip Hop Education

  • A nonprofit organization "dedicated to developing the leadership voice of the next generation."

Hip Hop Education Center: A 21st Century Communiversity

  • "A centralized online social network, learning and information exchange, and archival management system... Our mission is to be a catalyst for the hip-hop and education field."

Hip Hop Education Project

  • Based in Oakland, California. "We're here for justice for Black and Latino kids... Using critical hip hop pedagogy and project based learning to ensure all students achieve academically, socially and become dynamic problem solvers."

Hip Hop, Popular Music, and Education

  • A useful resource list from Ithaca College.

Primary source collections online

Selected primary source databases related to your topic are listed below. Use the instructions at left to connect to a specific database.

African American Community (Black urban life)

African American Newspapers 1827-1998

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907.

Black Drama: 1850 to the Present

Black Thought and Culture (sourced from multiple libraries)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice: 1490-2007 (sourced from multiple libraries)

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives

Twentieth Century African American Poetry

Archives Unbound Collections. Subcollections include:

  • the National Negro Congress
  • the Black Liberation Army
  • the Revolutionary Action Movement
  • Fannie Lou Hamer
  • U.S. government response to 1960s radicalism
  • U.S. government surveillance of African Americans
  • FBI files on Benjamin J. Davis Jr.
  • African liberation movement
  • papers of Amiri Baraka
  • 1961 Freedom Riders

ProQuest History Vault. Subcollections include:

  • Claude Barnett papers
  • Robert F. Williams papers
  • Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee
  • Southern Christian Leadership Council
  • NAACP
  • Congress of Racial Equality
  • Mississippi Freedom Summer participants
Michigan State University