With more than 400,000 copies now in print, The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. Seasoned researchers and educators Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams present an updated third edition of their classic handbook, whose first and second editions were written in collaboration with the late Wayne C. Booth. The Craft of Research explains how to build an argument that motivates readers to accept a claim; how to anticipate the reservations of readers and to respond to them appropriately; and how to create introductions and conclusions that answer that most demanding question, “So what?” The third edition includes an expanded discussion of the essential early stages of a research task: planning and drafting a paper. The authors have revised and fully updated their section on electronic research, emphasizing the need to distinguish between trustworthy sources (such as those found in libraries) and less reliable sources found with a quick Web search. A chapter on warrants has also been thoroughly reviewed to make this difficult subject easier for researchers Throughout, the authors have preserved the amiable tone, the reliable voice, and the sense of directness that have made this book indispensable for anyone undertaking a research project.
Published annually since 1985, the Handbook series provides a compendium of thorough and integrative literature reviews on a diverse array of topics of interest to the higher education scholarly and policy communities. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of research findings on a selected topic critiques the research literature in terms of its conceptual and methodological rigor and sets forth an agenda for future research intended to advance knowledge on the chosen topic. The Handbook focuses on a comprehensive set of central areas of study in higher education that encompasses the salient dimensions of scholarly and policy inquiries undertaken in the international higher education community. Each annual volume contains chapters on such diverse topics as research on college students and faculty, organization and administration, curriculum and instruction, policy, diversity issues, economics and finance, history and philosophy, community colleges, advances in research methodology and more. The series is fortunate to have attracted annual contributions from distinguished scholars throughout the world.
Call Number: CLICK TITLE TO REQUEST THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Publication Date: 2010-10-11
Written primarily for students in higher education and student affairs graduate programs, Introduction to American Higher Educationis a groundbreaking textbook that combines classic scholarship pertaining to colleges and universities with the most cutting-edge perspectives in the field. The book is divided into five sections and contains 25 essential readings on the following topics: Faculty Teaching, Learning and Curriculum College Students Organizations, Leadership and Governance Higher Education Policy Each section includes chapters on community colleges and four-year institutions, as well as a substantive overview written by an expert scholar in the field: Ann E. Austin, Clifton F. Conrad, Laura I. Rendόn, Adrianna J. Kezar, and Edward P. St. John. This impressive volume ensures that faculty members will no longer have to compile their own collections of articles and chapters for use in introductory courses--Introduction to American Higher Educationbrings together the best scholarship in one comprehensive text.
The eagerly anticipated Fourth Edition of the title that pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design is here! For all three approaches, Creswell includes a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research approaches, and refl ections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. He also presents the key elements of the research process, giving specifi c attention to each approach. The Fourth Edition includes extensively revised mixed methods coverage, increased coverage of ethical issues in research, and an expanded emphasis on worldview perspectives.
The textbook emphasizes the critical interpretation and practical application of research findings, and covers many cutting-edge issues and methods including: a more in-depth, contemporary focus on causation the logic and use of control variables with non-experimental data the use of visual path diagrams to better understand both causation and the use of control variables a fuller, more innovative treatment of quasi and natural experiments a focus on data collection for performance measurement a discussion of cutting-edge issues in sampling and survey research an integrated treatment of qualitative methods that appears throughout the book and emphasizes the integration of qualitative with quantitative methods.
The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching Ernest L. Boyer's "Scholarship Reconsidered" offers a new paradigm that recognizes the full range of scholarly activity by college and university faculty and questions the existence of a reward system that pushed faculty toward research and publication and away from teaching.