**Only eligible to MSU graduate students and faculty. Click the i in the blue circle for more information.**
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service that provides access to datasets including COMPUSTAT Global & EMDB,COMPUSTAT, CRSP, EVENTUS,I/B/E/S, IRI, PACAP. We do not own access to every dataset. Click the "i" button for details on how to access.
**Only eligible to MSU graduate students and faculty.** First request an account here. If you already have an account, click here for access.
**Access is allowed for only two users at a time.**
Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies (~35,000 public companies and ~23 million private companies) , including SEC filings (US only) and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies. To search the ~23 million private companies, select D&B Private Company Database. Now includes Mergent Horizon and Mergent Bond Viewer.
Accessible through the Gale Directory Library. A listing of brand names and the companies that own them. Includes basic information about the companies.
Automotive News Data Center
**Available only in the Business Library at the selected resources computers. Access is allowed for only one user at a time. See staff at the circulation desk who will log you in.**
Provides access to data on the automotive industry including automotive and brands sales, dealerships, production, prices, and used car data.
eMarketer provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
eStatement Studies is the online version of RMA's two print titles: Financial Ratios Benchmarks, and Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures, which include industry financial ratios for over 808 industries and probability of default estimates, cash flow measures, and change in financial position information for more than 730 industries. It contains 10 years of historical data and can be narrowed down to region in the U.S.
Contains market research reports from Freedonia Focus and Kalorama Information. Freedonia covers over eighteen industry categories including automotive, chemicals, industrial components, energy, pharmaceuticals, plastics, and electronics. Kalorama covers the life sciences industry (topics include pharmaceutical, biotechnology, medical devices and diagnostics). Users can find industry market insights and outlook.
Offers key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, with coverage down to the seven-digit NAICS code, along with in-depth analysis for over 70 global industries and 200 industries in China and Canada. Includes life cycle analysis, barriers to entry, market share, and basis of competition.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search this site for holdings. Data downloads are free of charge by registering with an MSU email address.
***New Interface and name.*** Contains over 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles, over 110 country profiles, over 50,000 financial deals reports along with over 60,000 news articles, and over 2,500 company SWOT analyses. They also have case studies. Industry profiles include Porter's Five Forces.
****Now a part of Mergent Online. It has its own tab on the main page and also a tab on the company page.****
Provides comprehensive coverage of companies--their products, major customers, suppliers, partners, and industries. Covers all companies traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ. Includes enhanced detail for companies in healthcare, tech, media, and finance.
*Does not work well in Safari. Use Internet Explorer or Firefox.**
A comprehensive service that monitors new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care.
OECD Statistical Data cover the broad range of OECD activities including finance, sustainable development, social issues, food and agriculture, education, employment, information technology, nuclear energy, transport, and much more.
The Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers.
Country Statistics GMID contains over a million hard-to-find demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The historic and forecast statistics enable you to build detailed country profiles and analyse trends from 1977-2016.
Market data GMID contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. It is very easy to analyse trends in consumer spending, establishing the largest markets for a product, the fastest growing markets, those that are mature and those that are in decline.
Lifestyle indicators Consumer lifestyles and behaviour drive markets. Euromonitor researches and models a huge range of lifestyle indicators such as eating and drinking habits, home ownership trends and crime patterns for 71 countries worldwide. Create bespoke statistical profiles of lifestyle indicators to compare market conditions around the world.
Lifestyle analysis To help put the consumer lifestyle statistics in context there are lifestyle reports for 65 countries. Euromonitor examines how people live their lives and the factors influencing lifestyle choices to provide the story behind the numbers.
Market analysis A subscription to the full GMID database provides over 4,500 market reports, offering in-depth strategic analysis for consumer, industrial and service sectors. There are global reports, country reports and company reports.
Global reports analyse key issues affecting international market performance, with a focus on important developments by product sector and big picture competition strategy.
Country reports provide in-depth analysis on both developed and emerging national markets. Each report provides qualitative commentary on market and sector sales trends, new product and marketing developments, consumer preferences, national company and brand competition and market strategies, and the views and assumptions underlying national sales forecasts.
Company reports offer strategic profiles of the leading multinationals in the industry. Each profile analyses the activities of the company's interests around the world and assesses its future prospects. Each profile is geared to the particular industry under review; so companies in more than one sector is profiled more than once.
Company profiles, market shares and performance indicators
There are profiles of 3,000 leading fast-moving consumer goods companies operating nationally, regionally and worldwide. Rank companies by key performance indicators such as market share or sales and identify the brands available in the different markets.
Information sources GMID gives you access to thousands of international market and business information sources, the same sources that Euromonitor's analysts use when starting a new research project. You can speak directly with leading trade associations, trade promotion bodies, government institutions and specialist market research publishers to build even more detailed perspectives on countries, companies, lifestyles and markets.
Country profiles Key political and economic indicators are examined in 205 countries, allowing you to locate important country facts easily.
Country Insight is an online information database providing in-depth analysis of economic, political, social and demographic trends affecting 71 countries and 8 regions worldwide.
Global Consumer Trend Monitoring is your ear on the ground to spot emerging trends in 37 national markets. On a daily basis it tracks trends shaping consumer attitudes, opinions, activities and spending habits.
Market Research Monitor provides 3-year archive of over 850 consumer and retail reports and 600 major market profiles. Market analysis includes forecasts, company profiles, market share and size.
Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.
Includes plumbing and kitchen data from 2011-2015 US Census Annual Community Survey.
**Now Available Anywhere. Access is allowed for only 15 users at a time.**
Contains data from the National Consumer Study, an annual survey of U.S. consumers' buying and media habits. Use OneView to create customized reports of the data. Most recent data available is 3 years old.
**Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.**
Formerly named SimplyMap, SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping tool that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
An unparalleled repository of world-class references, this online library meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines. From Frequentist to Bayesian, biostatistics to finance, this fully searchable collection is the perfect tool for any size analysis on all sorts of data.
To search STATSnetBASE titles, choose “Advanced Search” upon connecting to CRCnetBASE and limit your search to the “Statistics” Subject collection.
***Use Internet Explorer. Does not work in Firefox. Allow pop-ups so you do not miss windows that open. Does not work well in IE 10. Use compatibility mode for it to work better. *** Provides access to limited news and data for companies. We subscribe to their Investext reports and the Deals module. See their individual entries for more information.
A searchable database of import and export data from over 130 countries that provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year.
WardsAuto.com provides data, analysis, articles, and news on the automotive industry. It includes sales and production data for the US and several other countries going back 30 years. You can also find new vehicle buyer demographics, dealership statistics, consumer expenditures, employment statistics, highway finances, miles of travel, fuel economy, and more.