Skip to main content
Michigan State University

GRM 341: German Literature and Culture Before 1918: Journal Articles

Online Indexes for German Literature

Getting to the Full-Text Article

I've found the citation to the article in a database, now how do I get the actual article so I can read it?

1. Within the index/database, click on the link to the full-text of the article if there is one.

2. No direct link? Click the Find Text@MSU link to bring up a page that will 1) show any full-text links and/or 2) facilitate a title search of the Library catalog for print/electronic subscriptions.

3. No Find Text@MSU link? Paste the title of the article into SearchPlus. If we have the article online, a full-text link will be provided; otherwise, a link to the citation and print holdings, if any. SearchPlus search failed? Go to the Library Catalog and search for the title of the journal by doing a title search to identify any print and/or electronic holdings. If there is an electronic version available, be sure to note whether it covers the year/volume/issue you need. If not, you will need to use the print version. 

4. If the journal you want is unavailable in the MSU Libraries, we can request the articles you need from another library. This is a free service, but can take anywhere from 3-5 business days to a couple weeks. So plan accordingly and don’t put off your research until the last minute! It's always a good idea to do your literature search early, identify the resources that the Library does not own and submit your requests for the things you want. That way you'll have them when it's time to write your paper.

Librarian

Anita Ezzo's picture
Anita Ezzo
Contact:
Main Library
366 W. Circle Drive
Room E408
East Lansing, MI 48824
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University