Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Library Resources for Communicative Sciences and Disorders: Finding Articles

Resources for Communicative Sciences and Disorders

Databases

Use the databases listed below to find journal articles.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Provides citations for journal articles in language acquisitions, linguistics and speech language pathology disorders.

CINAHL

CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the leading English-language nursing database. CINAHL provides indexing for over 3,000 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. In addition to journals, it includes legal cases, clinical innovations, research instruments, nursing dissertations, selected conferences and proceedings, standards of professional practice, critical paths, book chapters, patient education materials, educational software, and audiovisuals.

PubMed/Medline

PubMed/Medline is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Retrospective to the 1950s, it contains bibliographic citations with author abstracts (since 1975) from over 5000 international biomedical journals published in the US and 80 other countries. In order to access the fulltext articles provided by the MSU Libraries, it is important to access PubMed through the MSU Libraries. If located off-campus, you'll be prompted for your NetID and password.

Cochrane Library

A compilation of five databases designed to provide evidence to help health care providers decide on the best treatment for a condition or disease by identifying all controlled trials of interventions for a particular condition and reviewing the results to see which work best. The most important database is the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. No full text content within PsycInfo, but there are links to full text in other databases, including PsycARTICLES, and through the MSU Libraries' holdings. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)

HaPI, features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.

Global Health

Global Health is a specialist international public health database for academics, researchers, public health practitioners, NGOs, policy makers, clinicians, healthcare professionals and students. In addition to comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it includes significant unique content (compared with the other mainstream health databases) particularly in the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.

ERIC

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is funded by the federal government to assure that current educational research findings are available to teachers in the field. Until December of 2003, a series of clearinghouses, each devoted to a specific specialized aspect of education, indexed journal articles, research reports and other materials for listing in the ERIC database. After a lapse of several months, in 2004 the contract for compiling the database was awarded to a single contractor. This lapse resulted in some coverage gaps. As of July 2009 the ERIC index database has largely recovered, gaps in coverage are no longer a problem.

Education Abstracts

Although nominally covering fewer journals (about 700) Education Abstracts (or Education Index as the print product was called) indexes new issues of journals quickly and covers some journals not listed in ERIC. The database offers citations to English language literature about all aspects of education at every level, starting in 1983.

Sociological Abstracts

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records published by Sociological Abstracts in print during the database's first 11 years, 1952-1962, have been added to the database.

CSD Journals

These are only a few of the journals we have focused on communicative sciences and disorders. If you're looking for a specific title, you can search in the catalog, limiting the search to "Periodical Titles at MSU." You can also contact Jessica Sender, librarian for CSD, at jsender@msu.edu.

Journal of Speech, Language and Hearing Research

The bimonthly Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (JSHLR)—an online-only, international, peer-reviewed scholarly journal—has been published continuously since 1936.

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in speech-language pathology, including screening, assessment and treatment techniques; prevention, professional issues, supervision and administration.

American Journal of Audiology

The quarterly American Journal of Audiology (AJA)—an online-only, international, peer-reviewed scholarly journal—has been published continuously since 1991. 

Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools

All aspects of clinical speech, language, & hearing services to children & adolescents, particularly in school settings.

International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders

The International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders (IJLCD) is the official journal of the Royal College of Speech & Language Therapists. The Journal welcomes submissions on all aspects of speech, language, communication disorders and speech and language therapy. It provides a forum for the exchange of information and discussion of issues of clinical or theoretical relevance in the above areas.

Clinical Linguistics and Phonetics

Concerned with disorders of speech & language & the interaction between them & the study of linguistics & phonetics.

Speech, Language and Hearing

Speech, Language and Hearing is a peer-reviewed journal welcoming submissions from clinicians and researchers who work with any aspect of normal or disordered speech, language, or hearing. The journal is multidisciplinary in nature with manuscripts accepted from all professional and scientific disciplines but particularly those in the areas of linguistics, psychology, education, audiology, speech-language pathology, and medicine. The principal criteria for acceptance are significance of the topic or experimental questions, conformity to rigorous research, originality, scholarship, and clarity of writing.

Michigan State University