Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Narrative in the College Classroom: Circulating collections

Autobiographies

To find autobiographies use the subject heading autobiographies (always the plural.) The catalog record may include an additional heading for geographic area, time period, or demographic. You can use these terms in keyword searches, such as:

  • autobiographies and burkina faso
  • autobiographies and 20th century
  • autobiographies and women authors

Children's and YA Literature Collection

Multicultural, diverse, and international literature for preschoolers to young adults. Located in the Main Library on 2 West.

Folk tales and legends

To find folk tales use the subject headings Tales or Legends, followed by geographic area. Or, use the terms together in a keyword search.

ROVI Media Collection

Our ROVI Media Collection includes about 700,000 music CDs and 170,000 DVDs, representing a very large percentage of the media released in those formats since the 1990s (both original releases and re-releases of material from analog formats.)

ROVI items can be checked out for 14 days, with no renewals, and a limit of 10 items at a time. 

Search the ROVI collection here. Please note that the ROVI Media Collection is not accessible for browsing. Use the purple GET IT button to request an item and it will be retrieved for you, usually within 48 hours.

Vincent Voice Library

MSU's Vincent Voice Library contains more than 100,000 hours of recorded speech, representing more than 500,000 individuals from all walks of life, dating back to the earliest years of sound technology.

Many thousands of recordings are available online, if they are in the public domain or permission has been given by the copyright owner. Search the Voice Library catalog.

Travel narratives

Find travel literature using [Placename]--Description and travel as a subject search, or simply combine the placename and the term travel as a keyword search: France and travel. You can filter your keyword search results by language and by publication date.

New and recommended: A.S. Troelstra, Bibliography of Natural History Travel Narratives. Utrecht: KNNV Publishing, 2016.

Michigan State University